Cote Brasserie

This year at university I’ve been aiming to visit as many new places in Birmingham as possible…so basically anywhere that isn’t the Bullring, Broad Street or Selly Oak! During my first year living here, the Mailbox was always high up on my list as we drive past it on our way into the city centre, but I never managed to make it there. So when my Mum came to visit at the start of term we thought we’d try it out.

There is so much choice in the Mailbox, but Cote Brasserie had been on my list of restaurants to visit for a few months now and we fancied trying somewhere completely different to the usual places we eat out at. This was a last minute decision on the day, so I was pleasantly surprised when we were able to book a table for the time we wanted that night.

IMG_5957

The Atmosphere

After a few hours shopping at the Bullring, we were exhausted and ravenous so arrived slightly earlier than our table was booked for. However we were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff and seated immediately. I hate it when the music is too loud in a restaurant and you can’t have a conversation, but they had got it just right in Cote. Combined with a relaxed atmosphere and varied mix of customers of families with young children to couples to single diners, we were already starting to feel like we’d made a good choice of restaurants.

IMG_5959

IMG_5958

The Food

Cote Brasserie offer a French themed menu with starters including Moules Marinères and Calamari, and main courses such as Roast Duck Breast, Steak Frites and Salmon Fishcakes. Although the starters all sounded amazing (I particularly liked the sound of the Goat’s Cheese Tartine), we went straight for main courses and both chose off the small “Plat Rapides” section. As always, we also went for the same dish of Poulet Grillé – Chargrilled Butterflied Chicken Breast with Wild Mushroom, Crème Fraîche and Thyme Sauce, served with Gratin Potato.

The dish was beautifully presented when it arrived and we couldn’t wait to tuck in! My favourite food is mushrooms and I almost always chose a dish with a mushroom sauce if its on a menu, so believe me when I say this was the best mushroom sauce I have ever eaten in my life! It was accompanied by a succulent chicken breast and creamy, perfectly cooked gratin potatoes. Easily one of the nicest dishes I’ve eaten in a restaurant recently!

IMG_5960

Unfortunately we were both too full to sample anything from the dessert menu this time. However, we will be back soon to try one of the other delicious sounding mains off the menu and (hopefully!) a dessert too!

Overall

Cote Brasserie has definitely become one of my new favourite restaurants in Birmingham. I highly recommend making this your restaurant of choice next time you visit the Mailbox! It’s the perfect venue to dine at for a special occasion, birthday, date or if you just fancy some really good food! It was great value for money too, with mains ranging from £9.95 to £17.95, and the only downfall was the expensive car parking prices at The Mailbox.

 

Disclosure: I paid for my own meal and drinks, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

2 thoughts on “Cote Brasserie

Leave a Reply

