Bodega

Although I haven’t been recently, I decided it was time to do a blog on one of my favourite restaurants in Birmingham – Bodega. This popular Mexican bar and catina is situated on Bennetts Hill, which is just a short walk off New Street and easy to get to from the Bullring or New Street station.

Bodega is part of the Bitter ‘n’ Twisted venues – a group of six independent restaurants, pubs and bars all over Birmingham. Other members are New Inn in Harborne (amazing steak), The Rose Villa Tavern in the Jewellery Quarter, and city centre based Island Bar, The Jekyll and Hyde (cocktails in jam jars, need I say more) and The Victoria. I’ve been to five out of six of these venues (reviews coming soon!) and I loved them all.

I’ve eaten at Bodega three times since moving to Birmingham – last year with my Mum, back in May to celebrate my birthday with my friends, and again with friends in October. Each time the food has been flawless and 100% the best Mexican food I’ve ever eaten.

Food

If, like me, you have an obsession with sweet potatoes then you need to go here. They do the most amazing sweet potato fries you will ever eat in your life…trust me! I would seriously consider choosing them as my last meal they are that good. Obviously a plate of sweet potato fries doesn’t constitute a main meal, but that’s fine as they do plenty of delicious Mexican food to accompany them.

My favourite dish there has to be the Burger a la Parrilla – a beef burger topped with cheese and chipotle mayo, wrapped in a tortilla wrap. The fact that they ask how you want your burger cooking sold me before I’d even tried it…then when it came I was greeted with a thick juicy flavoursome burger. One word – AMAZING! And probably one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. I love the creative twist of serving it in a tortilla wrap too, which gives it an edge above standard burgers in a bun.

971237_10201255719185239_1153044007_n

I’ve also tried the Cajun Chicken Bodega Burrito too – a tortilla wrap filled with rice, beans, cheese, salsa and Cajun chicken. It was tasty, cheesy, perfectly spiced, and packed full of tender chicken.

bb6b8e06c31511e2a1ff22000a1fcee4_7

If burritos or burgers don’t take your fancy, they also offer some traditional Brazilian and Peruvian mains which sound equally tempting. Bodega also do a selection of small plates which can be enjoyed like tapas, including Albondigas, Empanadas, Quesadillas and Tacos. I love tapas style eating so I’m definitely going back soon to try all these little dishes out.

Cocktails

All of the Bitter ‘n’ Twisted venues are known for doing fantastic cocktails, and Bodega is no exception. They offer unique cocktails based around Tequila, Rum, Cahaca (popular Brazillian spirit) and Pisco, a grape brandy originating from Peru and Chile. You won’t find Sex on the Beach or Woo Woo’s on this cocktail menu, and it makes a nice change to try something new! Prices are typical of cocktails at any good bar, ranging from £5 – £7. I particularly enjoyed their Pina Colada.

1492839_10202887623134563_935085232_n

On Friday night’s they use the basement Bar, Sugarloaf, to host Lucha Libre – a night of Latin, Soul and classic hip hop music, cocktails, and dancing. Basically a great way to start the weekend, and with the added bonus of being free entry too. I’m yet to try it out, but when I do I think I will have to start the night with food in their restaurant first (it would be rude not to!)

Overall

Bodega is the place to go for amazing food at great prices (mains are an average of £10) in Birmingham. My advice would be to book in advance though, this is one popular place which is always packed and tables for the weekend book up really quickly! I can’t wait to go back again soon!

 

Disclosure: I paid for my own meal and drinks, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

7 thoughts on “Bodega

    • Thanks for the follow 🙂 I’ll have to give them a try next time I go (which will probably be sometime in the near future!) 🙂
      I’ve been to the Lost and Found for cocktails and they were amazing – itching to go for food there though as i’ve heard great things too 🙂

Leave a Reply

