The Basin, Loughborough

If you live near Loughborough, then the chances are you will have heard of and/or eaten at The Basin. It’s a favourite of mine and I always try to visit when I’m home in the holidays. So when my Mum suggested dining here on New Year’s Eve I jumped at the chance to go back and have my favourite dishes again.

IMG_8238

I love the chilled, easy atmosphere at The Basin. You aren’t rushed to eat and leave quickly, and so you can enjoy your dining experience here and catch up with friends over a long lazy dinner. Despite it being busy when we visited, with lots of larger parties dining there that night too for the New Year, the staff were friendly and the service was super quick.

Food:

The Basin offers an extensive menu including lots of tempting starters, sushi, noodles, ramen, and rice dishes such as Chicken Katsu Curry and Thai Green Chicken Curry. We decided to start off with three different starters to share between us so that we could all have a bit of everything; we went for the Sesame Prawn Toast, Negima Yakitori, and Shredded Chicken Spring Rolls.

IMG_8225

The Prawn Toast at The Basin is easily the best prawn toast in the world!! It’s thick, chunky, juicy, and words fail me to describe just how delicious it is.

IMG_8224

The Spring Rolls had a crispy casing with a hot, flavoursome filling. However, in my eagerness to eat them I managed to burn my mouth on them – that’ll teach me to be greedy!

IMG_8232

The Negima Yakitori were grilled chicken and spring onion skewers with a yakitori sauce. Each skewer had a generous portion of succulent, tender chicken. The sauce was delicious and it was the best tasting dish of the night for me.

IMG_8235

 

For mains I decided to go for the Pad Thai – stir fried ho fun noodles with prawns, shrimps, peanuts, onions, egg and beansprouts. It was packed full of flavour with lots of juicy, succulent king prawns, and the squeeze of lime juice made it fresh and light. I also loved the topping of peanuts which gave it extra texture and flavour. The only downfall for me was that I found it slightly too spicy for my taste, but I am a wimp when it comes to any form of spice!

The Basin

My Mum had the Chicken Yaki Soba which she absolutely loved. I’ve had this dish there before and personally think it is better than Wagamama’s version.

IMG_8220

My brother and Dad both went for the Chicken Teriyaki, which they both enjoyed. They also offer this dish with beef or salmon, and in future visits I’d like to try the Salmon Teriyaki myself as the sauce was really tasty.

IMG_8240

We were all stuffed from the gorgeous meal, but my brother couldn’t resist ordering the Chocolate Profiterole Cheesecake for himself. It was gone within a matter of minutes and before anyone else could try it, but he ensured us it was amazing.

IMG_8241

Overall:

A truly delicious meal at The Basin was the perfect way to start a night of New Year celebrations. If you’re in the area, make sure you visit here for some excellent Thai, Chinese and Japanese food. With long tables to accommodate large groups, it is a fantastic venue for birthday’s and celebrations. On the other hand, there are also lots of smaller tables perfect for intimate dates, dinner with friends, or family meals.

 

Disclosure: We paid for my own meal and drinks, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

One thought on “The Basin, Loughborough

Leave a Reply

