Butterscotch Pecan Cheesecake

I absolutely love making cheesecakes (mainly so I can eat them afterwards!!), but I’ve never tried to make a baked cheesecake before. So I decided it was time to take on this challenge…I guess you could say it’s one of my New Year Resolutions for my blog, or at least that’s the excuse I’m using for making this delicious dessert!

I’ve always liked the sound of a Pecan Pie Cheesecake or a Toffee Pecan Cheesecake (basically anything pecan related!), so when I stumbled across a recipe for the Hummingbird Bakery’s Butterscotch Pecan Cheesecake online I knew I had to try making one myself. Along the way I made some small changes to their recipe until I came to my own version of this cheesecake. I made the digestive base using my own recipe which I use every time, I had a smaller cheesecake tin so I had to alter the measurements for the topping too, and I opted for a slightly different technique when I baked it.

IMG_8566

The result – a delicious, creamy and overall amazing cheesecake. I was worried it’d be too heavy and sickly, but it wasn’t at all and we’d managed to achieve the perfect balance between all the ingredients so that it worked really well. Next time I might even add more of the delicious butterscotch sauce on top too, or make extra to serve as a sauce for ice cream!

IMG_8555

Recipe inspired and adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days.

Made using a 12cm spring form cake tin. Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 200g digestive biscuits
  • 3 – 4 tbsp butter, melted
  • 350g cream cheese
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 40g pecans, finely chopped. Plus 8-10 pecan halves, to decorate
  • 30g unsalted butter
  • 25g soft light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 60g icing sugar

Method:

1. Line the base of the cake tin with baking paper, and preheat the oven to 160°C or gas mark 3

2. Put the digestives in a sandwich bag and crush with a rolling pin, then combine with the melted butter. Press into the base of a lined cake tin, then place in the fridge to cool and set for 20 minutes

3. Mix the cream cheese, sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla essence using an electric whisk until smooth, then add and mix in the eggs one at a time – this was my favourite step as I finally got to use my new stand mixer I got for Christmas!

4. Stir in the chopped pecans with a spoon and then pour the cheesecake mix onto the chilled biscuit base

IMG_8487

5. Wrap the cake tin in tin foil and place in a baking tray. Fill the baking tray with water to about 5mm from the top of the cake tin – this stops the cheesecake from cracking on top whilst it bakes

6. Place in the oven and bake for 30 minutes

7. After 30 minutes, remove the foil and bake for another 20-25 minutes uncovered. It’s ready when the cheesecake is a light golden colour, firm to the touch and has a slight wobble in the middle

IMG_8492

8. Let the cheesecake cool down at room temperature for 15 minutes, then chill and set it in the fridge for 1.5 to 2 hours

9. When the cheesecake is fully chilled, make the butterscotch sauce. Put the butter, sugar and milk in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Remove from the heat and stir in the icing sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla essence, then whisk until the glaze is smooth

10. Pour the glaze on top of the cheesecake and top with the pecans, then place in the fridge to set overnight (ours had about 20 hours in the fridge)

IMG_8495

11. When serving the following day, place the cake tin on a bowl and gently push down to remove the sides, leaving the base balancing on the bowl. Remove the baking parchment, slice up and enjoy!

IMG_8565a

IMG_8562

COMING SOON – a new recipe series titled “My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook”!

2 thoughts on “Butterscotch Pecan Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

