Weird Food Combinations

We all have those odd food combinations that sound completely crazy, and sometimes disgusting, but that we absolutely love still. Why do they work so well when they really shouldn’t?!

My Favourite Weird Food Combinations:

When I was younger I had an obsession with Tomato Sauce. I had it so often that I can’t stand it at all now. But at the time, I would eat tomato sauce in sandwiches, on crumpets, on crackers, in toasties, with chips, smothered over pizza…basically drenched on anything and everything I ate. I was such a fussy eater that my roast dinner consisted of only roast potatoes, yorkshire puddings and, of course, tomato sauce!! Thankfully I’ve grown out of this fussy stage now.

Another favourite of mine was Cheese and Onion Crisp Sandwiches. I don’t know what it is about this combination – crunchy, cheesy crisps sandwiches in soft, buttery slices of bread. Heaven. I haven’t eaten one in years, so excuse me whilst I go hunt out a packet of crisps to make one! [Unfortunately our house didn’t have any crisps of any flavour at all at the time of writing this, so I was bitterly disappointed that I couldn’t relive this childhood favourite!]

My grandparents live in Spain and every time we visit we always go to the Spanish tapas restaurant there.  The food is delicious, authentic and faultless. A few years ago when we dined here we were served Mozzarella Sticks with Strawberry Jam – not being a big fan of cheese I was dubious and really didn’t think it would work. But it was an amazing combination: gooey cheese with a crispy coating and sweet strawberry jam. It went perfectly together.

I could go on forever with weird food pairings that I love, but then you’d be here for hours reading this blog. So a final beloved combo of mine would have to be Devil’s on Horseback – dates wrapped in bacon! I only tried these near the end of last year and I absolutely loved them.  And it’s a great example of the ever growing uses of bacon; it has become popular in recent years with maple syrup and American pancakes. So I pose this question – is there anything that bacon doesn’t go with??

Popular Weird Food Combinations:

My research took me to Google, where I came across a lot of bizarre sounding combinations! Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches, which first got me thinking about doing this piece, popped up on almost every page. Most of the dishes I found incorporated something savoury with something sweet, like Ham and Melon, Salted Caramel, and Ham and Pineapple Pizza. The most surprising ones had to be the Deep Fried Mars Bar and drinking Coca Cola mixed with Milk. Recipes for Coca Cola Chicken or Ham also cropped up a lot, and it seems to be a popular way of cooking meat at the moment – has anyone tried this? Is it worth making?

Vegetable cakes and pies have been popular in recent years, particularly with the Great British Bake Off becoming a major hit. They really shouldn’t work but surprisingly they do and we love them! Most people have heard of Carrot Cake and Pumpkin Pie, but now we’re experimenting with new exciting flavours like Chocolate and Beetroot Cake and Courgette Muffins.

Your Weird Food Combinations:

I asked all my Facebook friends and Twitter followers what their favourite weird food combinations are, and I got back lots of interesting answers!! Peanut butter cropped up numerous times, as well as cheese with various accompaniments. Here’s the answers I got back:

  • Peanut Butter and Marshmallows
  • Peanut Butter and Cheese
  • Peanut Butter and Marmite
  • Marmite and Cheese
  • Marmite and Cucumber on Toast
  • Crisps and Soup
  • Cheese Sandwich and Tomato Soup
  • Soy Sauce and Mash Potato
  • Pasta and Tomato Soup
  • Cheese and Mint Sauce
  • Bananas on Toast
  • Chips, Cheese and Gravy
  • Chips dipped in Ice Cream
  • Pancakes with Butter and Sugar
  • Toast dipped in Tea
  • Pasta with Tuna Mayo, Cucumber, Tomato, Cheese Cubes, Salad Cream, Pineapple and Mandarin
  • Peanut Butter and Coleslaw on Crumpets
  • Slow Cooked Beef Brisket in Tomato Soup
  • Salad with Tartar Sauce
  • Plain Crisp and Mayo Sandwich
  • Chunks of Cheese dipped in Chicken Soup
  • Steak Kidney Pie filling mixed with Salt, Vinegar, Brown Sauce, Tomato Sauce, Salad Cream and put the Pie Lid back on

Thank you to everyone who replied with their weird food combinations too! Please comment below if you have a favourite that I haven’t already mentioned.

Will you be trying any of these food combinations?!

One thought on “Weird Food Combinations

Leave a Reply

