January Round Up

Where has January gone and how is it February tomorrow already?! Time is literally flying by, especially since I moved back to university…before I know it I’ll be graduating (a very scary thought!!). To celebrate the end of an amazing month, I thought I’d do a round-up of what’s been happening on my blog in January.

This Month’s Blog Posts:

1. Happy New Year and My Blog in 2014

At the start of the month I put together a list of all the things I’d like to do this year on my blog, and before I knew it the list become very long! I’ve already managed to tick five things off this month! However during the month I’ve also added some extra foodie ventures to the list too, including a few new restaurants and bars, cooking classes, afternoon tea, food markets, the BBC Good Food Show, and my favourite…foodie travels! I’m hoping to travel to at least one new city this year for a foodie weekend, and thanks to Twitter I’ve been recommened London, Edinburgh, Paris, Manchester and Barcelona as the top places to go. Please comment below if you know of any specifc restaurants, bars or food markets to go to in these cities!

2. The Basin, Loughborough

To celebrate New Year’s Eve, me and my family went for a meal at our local Chinese/Thai/Japanese fusion restaurant, The Basin. We had really yummy meal (my favourites were the Chicken Yakitori Skewers and Prawn Toast) and it was a lovely way to end an amazing 2013!

IMG_8224

3. Christmas Style Stuffed Chicken Breasts

I loveeee Christmas and in an attempt to hold on to it (even though it was early January!!), I created this Christmas-inspired recipe. The flavours worked really well together, and paired with the Oven Baked Bubble and Squeak below, it was like a mini Christmas dinner

IMG_8336

4. Oven-Baked Bubble and Squeak

Discovering bubble and squeak was one of the highlights of my Christmas this year (you can tell I’m a foodie!!), and as soon as we got back home I had to make it asap!

IMG_8326
5. Lunch and Mocktails at The Orange Tree

I practically lived at The Orange Tree drinking their fab cocktails over the Christmas break. I also went for lunch there too and discovered that their mocktails are just as good as their cocktails, and their tuna melt is super yummy!

IMG_8476
6. Butterscotch Pecan Cheesecake

Deciding to make this cheesecake was one of the best decisions I’ve made this month. It was completely A-mazing and I urge you to go and make it right this second!!

IMG_8566
7. Weird Food Combinations

I asked all my Facebook friends and Twitter followers for their favourite weird food combinations, and boy did you all deliver some good ones! Thanks to everyone who replied. Next month’s topic is “If you could only have one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?” If you have a chance to comment below with yours, please do as it will be greatly appreciated.

8. The Jekyll and Hyde

To celebrate our return to Birmingham, me and the girls went for cocktails at The Jekyll and Hyde on our first night back. I can’t get enough of the old-school sweet inspired drinks here.

1598455_10203199011519078_430366450_n
9. Creme Fraiche, Pesto and Sundried Tomato Chicken Gnocchi

This gnocchi dish was soooo good. Pesto is such a great ingredient, and this recipe has inspired me to start using it more often in my cooking – does anyone have any ideas for dishes involving pesto?

IMG_8552
10. Oven-Cooked Chicken Curry

One of my favourite go-to recipes which I had been meaning to share with you all for some time! It’s soo quick and easy to make, and a great recipe for showcasing the power of bunging everything into a dish and putting it in the oven to work it’s magic.

IMG_8369
11. Oven-Baked Ham and Pea Risotto

I LOVE this recipe! And you all seemed to as well – it’s such a lovely feeling when I see that someone has made one of my recipes, so please send me your pics if you ever make anything from my blog! This risotto has become a firm favourite for me and next month I plan to experiment with some new flavour combinations too.

IMG_8814
12. Cocktails at The Bureau

As part of my internship with Design My Night Birmingham, I headed over to The Bureau to review their cocktails. They were fantastic and it’s become a new favourite bar of mine in Brum now.

IMG_8845

13. Design My Night Birmingham – The Bureau

IMG_8854

14. Foodie Weekend in Birmingham

Easily the highlight of my month, and one of the nicest weekends I’ve had in a long time, was when my Mum visited me in Birmingham for a weekend of eating, drinking and shopping. I love girly weekends with my Mum and am already looking forward to our next one at the end of February.

IMG_8925b41e0fc2861811e392c70e3262379f31_8

15. Brunch at Ju Ju’s Cafe

The most amazing brunch EVER. Ju Ju’s Sandwich was to die for and I haven’t stopped craving it since I had it.

IMG_8917

16. Design My Night Birmingham – Unusual Cocktails in Birmingham

17. The Bureau

Back at The Bureau again, but this time to try their food too. Luckily I wasn’t disappointed and the food was just as good as their cocktails. I’m hoping to visit again next month for lunch and to sample more from their menu.

1616324_10203331629914455_1841068250_n

What to Expect on My Blog in February:

I have a few outings planned for February already, but as always I’m sure some spontaneous cocktail nights or meals out will arise!

 

Leave a Reply

