The Lost and Found

I’ve been meaning to post this review for almost 2 weeks now! But it’s been a busy few weeks with uni, doing my internship, working at my part-time job, and blogging about my foodie weekend and other spontaneous outings. Time literally seems to be flying by, but I’ve eventually got round to doing it!

I’m a huge fan of the cocktails at The Lost and Found and I’ve been four times in the past month or so! [You can check out my full review of their cocktails here]. Each time I’ve visited I’ve been extremely envious of those dining there as the food always looked fantastic. So when me and the girls from biology started planning our latest catch up, I suggested The Lost and Found for some food and cocktails. Last time we went to Red Peppers and you can check out my review here.

IMG_8882

1017328_693517750669723_1814384330_n

1157419_693517490669749_1180263057_n

Cocktails:

We all decided to get the Rapsberry Lemonade – Absolut Kurrant Vodka, Raspberry Liqueur, Midori, Lemon Juice, Sugar Syrup and Fresh Rapsberries, topped with Lemonade. It was served in a tall iced glass with a quirky striped straw abd topped with a mint leaf, cranberries and icing sugar. The cocktail was delicious, sweet and fruity (just how I like my cocktails!) and definitely the best cocktail I’ve had at The Lost and Found so far!

IMG_8885

 

To top it off, it was an absolute steal at only £5! All their ‘Found’ cocktails are only £5 between 5pm-8pm, which meant we each saved £2 on our drink. However, it was so good that I’d be more than happy to purchase it at full price and will next time I visit.

IMG_8867

Food:

The Lost and Found offer an broad menu with everything from old favourites like Bangers and Mash and Fish and Chips, to creative new dishes like the Aromatic Chicken and Sticky Rice and Pork Two-Ways. Mains start at £9.50 and range up to £17.95, with the most expensive dishes being Rib-Eye Steak and Chips (always a more pricey choice anywhere!) and Grilled Half Lobster Thermidor.

IMG_8854a

With so much on offer, we all spent a long time trying to decide what to have, and I kept going back and forth between several dishes. My New Year’s resolution is to be more decisive, and unfortunately I seem to be failing at this when it comes down to choosing cocktails or food off menus! Nevertheless, I finally settled on the Marinated Chicken Breast Hanging Skewer with Fat Chips and Dressed Side Salad.

It was presented on a hanging skewer, which made for a quirky inventive twist, and it looked extremely appetizing and interesting. I was worried that it might be hard to eat like this, but the chicken was so tender that it literally slid off the skewer. The chicken was succulent, moist and packed with flavour; it’s so easy to overcook chicken breast but they’d cooked it perfectly here. In between each chunk of chicken were aubergines, assorted peppers, courgettes, wedges of red onion, and cherry tomatoes, which added even more flavour to the already tasty dish. I particularly liked the cherry tomatoes which burst in your mouth with flavour, and I surprised myself by eating and actually enjoying the courgettes too as I normally hate them!

1624484_10203297140652245_1527449052_n

The mixed leaf salad came with a delicious honey mustard dressing. We asked for mayonnaise and received a cute little individual pot of it each. The fat chips were A-mazing – they were thick, chunky, soft in the middle and just the perfect chunky chips. They’d sprinkled black pepper over the top too and this gave it an added oomph and flavour.

IMG_8868a

IMG_8898

Overall it was a delicious meal and every component was cooked perfectly. It was an appropriate portion size too, so we weren’t unpleasantly over-full and we still had room for dessert too. The Lost and Found offer an exciting dessert menu with lots of choice and something for everyone, and I loved that each choice was inspired by an old-favourite but with their own quirky, creative twist.

IMG_8892

Savannah and Becky went for the Jack Daniel’s Chocolate Brownie with Nutmeg Ice Cream and a Chocolate and Vanilla Milkshake. It came served on a wooden board, with the milkshake in a cute little teacup. They both said it was delicious and a really good brownie.

323bc5a6848a11e3aa6312de58c71adc_8

Me and Katie went for the Almond Sponge Cake with Caramalised Apple, Sauce Anglaise and Vanilla Toffee. Not being a fan of cream or custard, I opted for vanilla ice cream instead of the Sauce Anglaise which the waiter was more than happy to do for me. The almond sponge cake was soo yummy and exactly how cake should be – full of flavour, light, moist and extremely moreish! The toffee sauce was delicious and complimented the lovely almondy flavour of the sponge. Although the apples were nice, I didn’t feel like they added much to the overall dish; I would of preferred no apples and more toffee sauce, but that’s because I loveeee toffee sauce and could eat it by the gallon!!

IMG_8879a

IMG_8880

Overall:

We ended up spending three and a half hours at The Lost and Found, but we weren’t rushed at any part of the night and not even when at the end of the meal we were just drinking the complimentary water (we were too full to fit in another cocktail!!). They checked on us regularly to see if we wanted anything, but didn’t pressure us to get the bill and leave like some restaurants have the tendency to do. It was easily the most relaxed and chilled I’ve felt in a restaurant for a long time.

I’ll definitely keep returning to The Lost and Found again and again for their amazing cocktails, and now their delicious food too! They also offer a tempting sounding lunch menu during the daytime which features a range of sandwiches and wraps with their chunky chips for only £7.50-£8.50 – I’m itching to try their Pulled Pork Pitta asap!

I returned a few months later to try the new summer food menu at The Lost and Found, and you can read my review here.

 

Disclosure: I paid for my own meal and drinks, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

4 thoughts on “The Lost and Found

Leave a Reply

