Mushroom Sauce For One

For me, there is only one option when it comes to choosing a sauce with a meal. Whether it’s with steak, chicken, mash, pasta, rice…it’s always got to be a Mushroom Sauce. I’ve had lots of great mushroom sauces when I’ve dined out, like the one I had at Cote Brasserie. I also really like the Philadelphia Simply Stir Mushroom Sauce, which I have reviewed here.

So it’s only natural that I have spent a lot of time trying to create the perfect recipe for a mushroom sauce, and a few years ago I hit the jackpot when I experimented and created this recipe. I’d all but forgotten about it for well over a year. Until earlier in the week I was racking my brain for ways to use up the rest of an opened pot of Garlic & Herb Philadelphia (I’d used some of it to make my lasagne), when I realised that I used to make a cracking mushroom sauce with it. I had it the very next day, fell in love with it all over again and HAD to share it with you all – enjoy!

IMG_9180

Ingredients:

  • 75g Philadelphia Garlic and Herb
  • 1/2 – 1 tbsp Dijon mustard – to taste
  • 50 – 100ml beef stock
  • 150g chestnut mushrooms, sliced

Method:

1. Fry the mushrooms for several minutes until fully cooked, then set aside

IMG_9176

2. Add the Philadelphia to a small pan and slowly heat to melt it, then add a the stock bit by bit until you get the desired consistency you want

IMG_9178

3. Add the mustard to taste, then return the mushrooms to the pan and heat through

4. Serve with chicken/steak/pork and mash potatoes

2 thoughts on “Mushroom Sauce For One

Leave a Reply

