February Round Up

Once again, I’m marking the end of another great month with a round-up of what’s been happening on my blog in February. I’ve posted a lot of recipes for one this month, and I’ve also been lucky enough to go out for some fantastic food and cocktails.

This Month’s Blog Posts:

1. Mini Cocktail Masterclass at Rev’s

When I saw the words “free” and “cocktails” all in one sentence, I was immediately sold on attending a free mini masterclass at our local Revs. Although it was for the launch of their new cocktail menu, I didn’t actually like any of the new additions (I’m loyal to my old favourites here)! However we still had lots getting behind the bar to make the cocktails and taking advantage of the 241 happy hour afterwards too!

IMG_9082IMG_9089

2. Design My Night Birmingham – Revolution

 IMG_9090

3. Edmunds

Being a student, fine dining restaurants aren’t somewhere that I’ve ever visited before. However, this all changed last month when I got the chance to dine at Edmunds and review it for Dine Birmingham. To say I’m hooked on fine dining is an understatement (I mean, look at how pretty the food is!!), and I’m already saving my pennies so I can visit another in the city.

tumblr_inline_n0dawuybVK1qhyx80

4. Cheat’s Sausage Casserole For One

Everyone loves a shortcut every now and then, and using a little ‘cheat’ in this recipe makes it a great option for a midweek meal! It’s also super easy and cheap to make too, and if you don’t like baked beans you can swap them for a different type of beans or vegetables instead.

IMG_9166

5. The Lost and Found

I already knew that The Lost and Found does the best cocktails, so discovering that the food is just as good was definitely a highlight of my month! I’m looking forward to heading back very soon to try out their lunchtime menu too…with lunchtime cocktails too of course!

IMG_8885

6. Mushroom Sauce For One

Anyone who knows me well will know how much I love mushrooms. So it should come as no surprise that mushrooms crop up in my recipes a lot, and here’s one centered all around my favourite food.

IMG_9180

7. Toad in the Hole For One

It’s the little things that make me happy, and successfully creating a toad in the hole recipe for just one person (it was no easy task, trust me!) was one of those moments.

IMG_9259

8. Design My Night – Valentine’s Day Cocktails in Birmingham

9. Chung Ying Central 

For my internship with Design My Night Birmingham, I was asked to review the food and cocktails at Chung Ying Central. The food was sooo good and it reignited my love for Chinese food (good job I picked up a takeaway menu then!). I’m eager to visit again soon to try their Dim Sum and more of their Zodiac-inspired cocktails. And of course to order the heavenly Chicken Yuk Shung again – it’s a must!!

3IMG_9268

10. Design My Night Birmingham – Chung Ying Central

 IMG_9283

11. Chicken Enchiladas For One

I don’t know many people who dislike Mexican food…and if you’ve never tried it before then what are you waiting for?! Go eat a fajita or burrito asap!! Or you could try making my chicken enchiladas for some yummy, cheesy goodness.

IMG_9312

12. Packed Lunch Ideas

Deciding what to have for lunch everyday can be a real pain! I get bored easily of the same sandwich fillings day in day out, so decided to write up a list of everything I could possibly have. Then when my friend asked me for some ideas of what to take to uni for lunch everyday, I thought I’d share my ideas with you all to hopefully inspire some tasty packed lunches!

13. Brum Dine With Me

With the start of Brum Dine With Me at the beginning of this month, I decided to share a little bit about my favourite university society with you all. We’re already halfway through our meals and so far all the food has been delicious. I even got to try Vietnamese food for the first time at this week’s meal too; it was soo tasty and something I’d never normally get the chance to eat, another reason why I love Brum Dine With Me so much! We only have two weeks left now and I’m cooking my meal on the 12th. However, I’m ridiculously indecisive and yet to decide on my final menu…

14. Oven-Baked Chicken Pesto Risotto For One

Okay, I’ll admit it – I’m extremely lazy. So when I discovered that an oven-baked risotto tastes just as good as a normal one in January, I was hooked. This month I decided to experiment with a new flavour and came up with this Chicken Pesto Risotto. It was delicious and I’d even go as far as to say it’s become my new favourite midweek meal (I had it two nights on a row!).

IMG_9428

15. Ju Ju’s Cafe

Best sticky toffee pudding EVER!! And the rest of the meal at Ju Ju’s was just as amazing too. I can’t praise Ju Ju’s enough, and it’s 100% on it’s way to becoming my favourite restaurant in Birmingham.

1414902_10202613775208536_489225296_n

16. Creamy Butternut Squash Soup

Sunday soup sessions could be on the cards now after I spent some of Sunday making this butternut squash soup whilst my Mum was visiting. I’m hoping to experiment with other flavours over the next few weeks too, especially as this cold weather doesn’t seem to want to go away! If you have a soup recipe you’d like to share, comment below or on my blog Facebook page.

IMG_9478

What to Expect on My Blog in March:

I already have a few meals out planned for March, as well as some new recipes lined up to share with you all, but I’m sure some other exciting plans and recipes will pop up too!

  • Digbeth Dining Club – I’m finally visiting this street food event tonight and I cannot wait!!
  • Girl’s Weekend in Birmingham – we’re off to Bodega for food, then onto Revs for cocktails!
  • More risotto recipes – I’m loving experimenting with new flavours of risotto at the moment, so expect one or two new recipes next month – Oven Baked Chicken and Chorizo Risotto
Leave a Reply

