Smoothie Making

We all have those days where no matter what we eat, we’re still hungry! And earlier in the week I had a serious case of this. It was only half 3, but I already wanted to cook my dinner and I couldn’t concentrate on anything but the fact that I was so hungry!

But then I remembered my Mum had brought up our smoothie maker to uni for me a few weeks ago and that I had some frozen berries in the freezer. So I decided to have  go at making some smoothies to see me through until dinner. This isn’t really a recipe, more of a chuck it all in and see how it goes sort of thing. But it turned out well and was really tasty, and I’ll be making smoothies more often now for a healthy snack or breakfast on the go!

IMG_9605

I used Frozen mixed berries – I find that it’s more convenient using frozen fruit as they’re cheaper and you don’t have to worry about the fruit going off, but you could use fresh fruit if you have some to use up instead. Next time I’m going to try using different frozen fruit to make a new flavour (I’m thinking mango or pineapple). Without thinking I chucked the whole packet in when I made them, and this meant that I kept having to add more and more milk as it was so thick! So maybe use half or less unless you want enough for 10 people!

IMG_9591

I also used Skimmed Milk, a good squeeze of Honey and about half of a big pot of Onken Fat Free Natural Yogurt. You could use any flavoured yogurt you want instead too.

IMG_9595

Then it was just a matter of chucking all the ingredients into the smoothie maker and blitzing it until smooth. I then tasted it to see if it needed more honey, and added more milk to get the right consistency. As I said before, this isn’t really a recipe more of a ‘guide’ to follow if you want to try making some healthy smoothies at home yourself. Happy Smoothie Making!

IMG_9598

IMG_9604

One thought on “Smoothie Making

Leave a Reply

