New Recipe Series: My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook

To mark my blog’s four month birthday (how has it been that long already?!), I thought I’d launch a new recipe series on my blog called My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook.

I first visited The Hummingbird Bakery a few years ago on a trip to London after seeing pictures of their delicious cakes online. On the menu at this American-style bakery are cream-cheese frosted cupcakes, luxurious three-tiered cakes, whoopie pies, brownies, pies and cheesecakes…so you can see why I couldn’t resist visiting!CCDMC-050

I decided to have a slice of their famous Carrot Cake. Three layers of moist, light carrot cake, sandwiched between their creamy, indulgent cream cheese filling, and finally topped with more of their cream cheese frosting and walnuts. It was simply amazing and words cannot describe how heavenly it is! It’s easily the best carrot cake I have ever eaten in my life, and undoubtedly the best I will ever eat. I’ve tried lots of delicious carrot cakes since, but I still think it is the best and none of them have fully been able to match up to it.

Untitled

Since my first visit, I have been lucky enough to visit again and, although everything else looks delicious, I had to get the carrot cake again. Unfortunately The Hummingbird Bakery only has locations in London and I really wish we had one here in Birmingham too (I’d be their number 1 customer!) As they have become more popular, they’ve opened more up bakeries and now have 5 across London and 2 in Dubai. We always visit the Soho branch on Wardour Street as this it’s just off Oxford Street so is perfect for a shopping break!

1654371_757017084308474_1698036894_n

I’ve always been keen to try and recreate some of their delicious baked goods at home, and at the end of last year I finally bought The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook. It’s the first of their cookbooks, and they have published two more since it’s release. I also received a proper stand mixer for Christmas too, and these two factors prompted me to reignite my passion for baking, something I haven’t done for too many years as time has just flown by!

IMG_7914

So I’ve decided to document my baking attempts (both successes and failures!) in this new recipe series – “My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook”. As I bake I may make some small alterations along the way which I will highlight, as well as giving any helpful tips that you may find useful when attempting to bake them too.

81RVaiFijsL._SL1500_

By no means am I aiming to make everything from their recipe book, but I hope to bake at least once every 2-3 weeks (hopefully more!) and get through as many as I can. Well, it’s a good excuse to bake and eat lots of cake anyway! I’m also hoping to fit in a trip to down to London to visit The Hummingbird Bakery for a review too. The first recipe in the series is coming up this time next week.

7 thoughts on “New Recipe Series: My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook

Leave a Reply

