My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook: Pecan Pie

Last week I launched my new recipe series – My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbookand today sees the first of my baking attempts – Pecan Pie.

For my Brum Dine With Me dinner party, I thought I’d try making a new dessert and finally decided on this pecan pie. Pecan Pie is up their with my all-time favourite desserts too – sticky toffee pudding, cheesecake, carrot cake, etc… I did attempt to make my own pastry, but it was a complete failure and I ended up running to the shop for some ready-rolled shortcrust pastry instead. Alas, I will never be on the Great British Bake Off or be a pastry chef!!

Despite this, everything else went really well and the result was amazing. It was SO good that I couldn’t resist having a second slice once I’d tidied up after my dinner party.

b9c3e7a8aa3511e3b40d12f304019c2e_8

The below recipe is adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook – I’ve rewritten and separated the steps so that it’ll hopefully be easier for you to follow and make!

IMG_9881

Made using a 23-cm pie dish. Serves 8-10

Ingredients:

  • 1 sheet ready-rolled shortcrust pastry
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 250ml dark corn syrup – I bought this Karo Dark Corn Syrup off Amazon as I wanted to go exactly by the recipe to achieve that authentic pecan pie flavour! But if you can’t get any, you could use Golden Syrup (I can’t promise if it’ll be as good though!!)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 60g unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100g pecan nuts, roughly chopped. Plus extra pecan halves to decorate

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 170C or gas mark 3 and measure everything out before you start so that it’s all ready

2. Grease the pie dish with a little bit of butter, then place the base in the centre of the ready-rolled pastry and carefully fold the corners of pastry into the centre. Drop the base into the pie dish and unfold the pastry, pushing it into the sides and corners to form a case – if you’re clumsy like me and make any holes, you can just patch this up with any spare pastry! Then trim off the excess pastry

IMG_9900

3. Put the chopped pecans into the bottom of the pie crust

IMG_9902

4. Crack the eggs into a bowl and whisk them briefly

5. Put the sugar, corn syrup and salt into a large saucepan and bring it to the boil for 2-3 minutes until it looks like the picture below. Remove it from the heat, and allow it to cool for about 7-8 minutes, stirring occasionally so that it doesn’t set

IMG_9897

6. Once the syrup has cooled down slightly (you want it to be warm and pourable still, but not hot), slowly pour it into the eggs, stirring continuously so that the eggs don’t scramble

7. Add the butter and vanilla extract, and keep stirring it until all the butter has melted and everything is combined

IMG_9904

8. Pour the filling over the chopped pecans, and arrange the extra pecan halves gently around the edge of the pie

IMG_9905

IMG_9912

9. Bake in the oven for at least 60 minutes until it is a dark, caramel colour and the filling has set but is still slightly wobbly – my pie took me almost 1 hour 45 minutes to bake as we have a gas oven and for the first 60 minutes I had it on the middle shelf where it didn’t cook at all!! But once I had moved it to the top shelf it finally started to bake! – So I would suggest baking it for 60 minutes on the top shelf of a gas oven, but if you have a fan oven then you shouldn’t have this problem

IMG_9916

10. Allow the pie to cool fully and serve with a scoop of ice cream

IMG_9941

Coming next time – Double Chocolate Cookies!!

2 thoughts on “My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook: Pecan Pie

Leave a Reply

