March Round Up

March has definitely been a good month! I joined the the team of writers for Student Life, launched a new recipe series, tried lots of new food, discovered new restaurants, had a fabulous girls weekend in Birmingham, and joined the Rib Nights team.

This Month’s Blog Posts:

1. Digbeth Dining Club

I FINALLY got round to going to the Digbeth Dining Club!! And I’ve had withdrawals since my first visit as I’ve not been in over a month now! April’s line up has just been released and it’s a cracker…I’m planning to go this Friday to get my next street food fix!

IMG_9562

2. Pancake Day

I love Pancake Day, but regrettably I didn’t get a chance to make any myself this year (I did get my fix at the Digbeth Dining Club though!). In hindsight, this was probably a good thing as I am not the best pancake maker around!! Despite this, I posted lots of yummy ideas of pancake toppings for those of you who did get to make some. Pancakes aren’t just for Shrove Tuesday though, so check out my list of ideas for a delicious dessert anytime of the year too.

3. Smoothie Making

Earlier this month I decided to use my blender to make this Berry Smoothie as a healthy snack. Time’s literally flown by this month and I’ve not had a chance to make anymore since, but I’m hoping to experiment with more fruity flavours like mango and pineapple in the next few weeks.

IMG_9604

4. Oven-Baked Chicken and Chorizo Risotto

I promised another risotto recipe this month, and I delivered one in the form of this chicken and chorizo flavoured creation. I ended up having it two nights on a row as I just couldn’t resist the fantastic smell of the chorizo cooking whilst I made it…heavenly!

IMG_9639

5. Chicken Katsu Curry

I’d been saving my recipe for Chicken Katsu Curry for a while now, but this month I finally shared my all-time favourite curry recipe with you all. I hope you all enjoy making and eating it as much as I do!

Chicken Katsu Curry

6. Joining the Student Life Team

The first of my new ventures this month was joining the team of writers for Student Life with a recipe post every other Sunday. I kicked off with my indulgent Toblerone Cheesecake, and later in the month posted my healthy Parsnip and Broccoli Soup. Check out the Student Life blog for more of my recipes that you won’t find on here.

1422887_10202851321587047_1436723945_n

7. New Recipe Series: My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook

This month I also kicked off my exciting new recipe series – My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook. It’s been a great excuse to do some baking again, and so far both of my bakes (Pecan Pie and Double Chocolate Cookies) have been a success! Next month I’m planning to bake some cupcakes and my all-time favourite Carrot Cake!

8. Girl’s Weekend in Birmingham

This was the best weekend I’ve had in a long time! Cocktails, yummy food, dancing, singing, nonstop laughter and lots of funny moments with my amazing family!

IMG_0015

9. The Plough

I got to tick something else off my foodie to do list this month when me and my Mum went for pizza at The Plough in Harborne. The pizza exceeded it’s reputation and it was delicious! I’ll definitely be venturing to The Plough again soon for some more pizza, especially on a Monday when it’s 241!

IMG_9963

10. My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook – Pecan Pie

The first recipe in My Baking Adventure with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook recipe series was a huge success! This pecan pie was heavenly and I couldn’t resist having a second slice after my first one!

b9c3e7a8aa3511e3b40d12f304019c2e_8

11. Unexpected Foodie Weekend in Birmingham

The best days are those that are spontaneous and unplanned, and this definitely applies with eating out as well! I had a fab foodie weekend trying lots of exciting new food that I’ve never eaten before – truffle popcorn, pistachio ice cream, ramen, tempura prawns and chicken feet!! This also formed my initiation into the Rib Nights team too.

IMG_0092

12. Creamy Butternut Squash Gnocchi

I don’t have gnocchi or butternut squash often enough, and this recipe proved that. The butternut squash sauce was so tasty and creamy and worked really well with the gnocchi, and I’ll definitely be making it again.

IMG_0129

13. Min Min Noodle Bar

I loved my first ramen experience!! And next month I’m planning to try and recreate something similar at home too. I doubt it’ll beat the delicious one I had at Min Min Noodle Bar though!

IMG_0090

14. Design My Night Birmingham – Top 5 Spring Cocktails in Birmingham

15. Toffee Apple Crumble

I ended March on a recipe high with this delicious Toffee Apple Crumble. It was the BEST crumble I’ve ever eaten and it’s become a firm favourite that I’ll be making again and again!

IMG_0171

What to Expect on My Blog in April:

Now my Easter holidays have started I should be spending all my time revising for the upcoming exams, but instead I’ve found myself with a jam-packed diary of foodie outings.

One thought on “March Round Up

Leave a Reply

