King Prawn Masala For One

A masala curry has to be my all-time favourite curry when I go for an Indian…something I haven’t done in almost two years now as my family don’t like Indian food! I’ve never found an Indian restaurant that is as good as my local at home in Shepshed, Out of India, so I’m always dubious of trying new restaurants too. And I’m yet to go to one in Birmingham despite it being home to soo many Indian restaurants. So I need to know – where’s the best place to go for a curry in Brum??

Seeing as I rarely get to have my favourite curry, I decided a few months ago that it was time to make it at home…and now I make it all the time! This curry is healthier, cheaper and quicker than ordering a takeaway, but you still get the distinctive flavour and rich, creamy sauce of a masala. I serve it with rice, but if I had to choose between rice and naan bread then I’d 100% go for naan bread every time – so if anyone has a recipe to make some at home please comment below or on my blog’s Facebook page.

IMG_9332

Ingredient:

  • 100-150g cooked and peeled King Prawns
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 2 tsbp paprika
  • 1-2 tbsp cumin powder
  • 2 tbsp garam masala
  • 1/2 pint water
  • 250g passatta
  • 2-3 tbsp greek yogurt
  • 1 & 1/2 tbsp sugar

Method:

1. Fry the onion and garlic in the butter for 5-6 minutes until the onion has softened

IMG_0044
2. Add the paprika, cumin powder and garam masala and fry for a future few minutes until they become fragrant (the smell is amazing!!)

IMG_0047
3. Add the water and let it bubble away on a high heat for 10 minutes until it has reduced by more than half and thickened

IMG_0052
4. Stir in the passatta and greek yogurt, then simmer for about 45 minutes until it has thickened then add the sugar. At this point, taste the curry and add more spices or sugar if needed

5. Stir in the prawns and heat for 2-3 minutes just to warm through (not for any longer or the prawns will go rubbery!), then serve with rice

IMG_0058

Tips and Ideas:

  • Make it a Chicken Tikka Masala by swapping the prawns for chicken
  • Use quorn chicken chunks to make it veggie-friendly
3 thoughts on “King Prawn Masala For One

  1. there are loads of fabulous indian restaurants in brum. A lot of husbands friends are Indian so I do get to try quite a few places, so here are my recommendations:
    Punjab Rasoi on the Warwick Road in Acocks Green – this place is on of my favourites as it is not far from me (i.e. I can walk to it!!)
    Rajpoot on the Pershore Road in Cotteridge – they do some amazing food there, this has taken over from Punjab Rasoi as one of my favourites! (http://www.rajpootbirmingham.com)
    Shababs on the Ladypool Road – my husband and his friends go there a lot.
    If you want something special then you go to Lasan’s in the city centre!
    I am more than happy to show you around the indian restaurants in brum!

    • thank you for all the suggestions!! lots of choose from there 😀
      Rajpoot isn’t far from me too as I live in the top end of Selly Oak so i’ll definitely check that one out 🙂
      aww that would be lovely – I definitely need a curry eating partner to go with!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

