Five Days of Foodie-ness in Birmingham

At the start of the year, me and my Mum booked tickets to see one of my favourite comedians Miranda Hart at the NIA. We then realised that it also fell on the same date that I was discharged from hospital a year ago, so we decided to make more of an occasion out of my Mum’s trip to Birmingham and celebrate with a meal and cocktails on the night too. This coincided with a Saturday night of lots and lots of cocktails and a Sunday afternoon of delicious ribs at Rib Nights too…and as always, I’d got another long foodie weekend on my hands!!

Fallen Angel Bakery

My foodie weekend started early on Wednesday when my lovely boss brought us all some cake from the Fallen Angel Bakery in Harborne. She got me my all-time favourite type too – Carrot Cake. The cake was so moist, tasty and just delicious. They’d got the cream cheese frosting to cake ration spot on too, and there was so much of the creamy, sweet frosting – it was heavenly!!

IMG_0394

Ju Ju’s Cafe

On Thursday evening, me and my Mum couldn’t resist booking a table at our favourite restaurant in Birmingham (for the 3rd time this year!!) – Ju Ju’s Cafe. Plus it’s just a stones throw away from the NIA, so a perfect choice for our pre-show meal!

IMG_0426

We wouldn’t normally order a starter, but neither of us could resist sharing the Scotch Egg with Black Pudding served Ju Ju’s Style with a Poached Egg and drizzled with Hollandaise Sauce. It was truly fantastic – tasty black pudding in a crispy coating, topped with a perfectly poached egg and plenty of their creamy, heavenly hollandaise sauce.

IMG_0432

For mains I ordered the Mushroom and Leek Stuffed Chicken Breast with Garlic Mushroom & Bacon Sauce, Served on a bed of Colcannon Mash. My idea of heaven (I’m obsessed with mushrooms!!), and thankfully they delivered an absolutely flawless and delicious meal. My Mum opted for the Ju Ju’s Hash after falling in love with it when we went for brunch here at the start of the year, and from the small bite my Mum allowed me to have (it was too good to share!) it was another fantastic main course. Although this is a veggie dish, Julia was more than happy to add some bacon to it for my Mum too!

IMG_0434

IMG_0436

When it came to ordering our desserts, we were both tempted to get the amazing Sticky Toffee Pudding that we have every time again. However we decided to try something new this time round instead, knowing that everything on the menu would be good! My Mum ordered the Baked Cheesecake with Caramel Sauce and Whipped Cream which she described as one of the best cheesecakes she has ever eaten. I had the Hot Apple Pie with Vanilla Ice Cream, which can only be best described as a hug on a plate as it was so yummy!

IMG_0438

IMG_0439

So that kind of turned into a mini review, but the food was just too good not share with you all!! You can read my full review of our last meal at Ju Ju’s Cafe here and of our brunch at Ju Ju’s Cafe here.

Miranda

Although I love her TV show, I wasn’t sure if Miranda would be good at stand up or not…but I can honestly say that she was brilliant!! I don’t think I stopped laughing once, and we both had a great night!

IMG_0443

Island Bar

Stomachs still hurting from laughing so much and on a comedy-high from Miranda, we headed to Island Bar for some post-show cocktails. We ordered the Russian Spring Punch, Blood from the Stone and British Summer Time from their extensive menu. However my favourite cocktail of the night went to the Fishcake’s Punch, a fruity blend of lime, passion fruit and pineapple juices with spiced rum and Noilly Prat. Despite the cocktails all being fantastic, we both felt that the lack of atmosphere and mediocre service let them down and I probably wouldn’t choose to go to Island Bar over other cocktail bars in the future.

Pushkar

Although I finished my internship with Design My Night Birmingham at the start of March, I’ve been lucky enough to write a few pieces since then for them still. So when they asked me to review the cocktails at Pushkar, an Indian restaurant and cocktail bar on Broad Street, I jumped at the chance to write for them again and try out a new cocktail bar that I hadn’t been to before. So on Saturday night me and fellow foodie blogger Polly went along to sample their drinks. The cocktails were seriously good, and you can read my full review of Pushkar on the Design My Night Birmingham website here.

10168519_10203862997158304_154445338_n

10156835_10203862999398360_1338804048_n

972560_10203863000958399_796677821_n

Revs

After our cocktails at Pushkar, me and Polly headed to the relaunch party at Revs for more cocktails. It’s been closed for the last two weeks and on Saturday night they reopened the doors of their fab new-look bar! We had such a fun night here and I loved all the live entertainment they had for the night. We were having such a great time that a quiet night of cocktails turned into us not leaving until after 2…make sure you get down to Revs soon to check out their refurb!

Rib Nights Round 3

You’ve probably all seen me posting about Rib Nights since I joined the team a few weeks ago…and on Sunday afternoon I finally got to go to my first ever Rib Nights event! During the afternoon sitting I was a customer and got to eat the absolutely delicious ribs (they were seriously SO good!!) and try some of our cocktail specials. The experience was only added to by the awesome entertainment – a mini Bourbon masterclass from Ibbs, amazing magic from Gavin Parsons, music from MANZO and live art from Nineteen Degrees.

IMG_0487

IMG_0485

Then in the evening I pulled on my Rib Nights t-shirt (provided by Disorder Boutique) and worked alongside the rest of the Rib Nights team. I loved working at the event, and I got to meet so many lovely people and talk to them all during the night (mostly about the awesome ribs!!). I had such a great day and can’t wait for Round 4 which will be next month..keep your eyes out for the dates soon! But before then, we’re heading to Leicester for the first leg on our UK Tour…tickets sold out for this in less than a week!!

IMG_0502

5 thoughts on “Five Days of Foodie-ness in Birmingham

Leave a Reply

