Foodie Day in London

When I was invited by the Underground Cookery School to attend one of their blogger events, I immediately booked my train tickets and decided to make the most of my 2 hour trip down to London by planning a completely foodie day out there! Fellow foodie blogger Polly was also invited, and we spent the day flitting across London eating and buying lots of yummy food before attending the cooking class in the evening.

The Hummingbird Bakery

I can’t go to London without visiting The Hummingbird Bakery for some of their delicious Carrot Cake…and this trip was no exception! And thankfully it was just as good as I remembered too, although I was shocked by how expensive it now is at £5.40!! I devoured it in minutes and I could have easily eaten another slice of it as it was just SO good; three layers of moist, light and tasty carrot cake with lots and lots of their heavenly cream cheese frosting. I also bought a slice to take home for my Mum too, and I had to excel a lot of willpower to not eat it on the train home!

 IMG_0665

IMG_0668

Borough Market

Borough Market has been on my to do list for a while now, so my trip down to London yesterday seemed like the perfect opportunity to finally visit! Unfortunately when we got there I belatedly realised that the full market is only open from Wednesday to Saturday, and on Tuesday’s there’s just a limited number of stalls open! I did pick up some Chipotle Powder and Vietnamese Pho Powder from Spice Mountain though, and I’m really excited to try them out this week. I could have easily bought so many different spices here, and at only £2-£2.50 per pot it was hard not to buy it all! There was also a big street food area outside and I wish I could have eaten something from there as it all smelt amazing.

IMG_0606

 

Shoreditch Grind

After my first coffee a few weeks ago, I’ve admittedly become slightly addicted (it was always going to happen!!). So after we had visited Borough Market, we still had almost 2 hours to kill before the class and decided to head to Shoreditch Grind for some coffee. My latte was so good here, and I couldn’t resist ordering another one shortly after. It was so relaxed and chilled, and I loved sitting back and just watching the world go by. They also had a cocktail menu too and I’d like to come back to try some of their coffee cocktails next time!

IMG_0666

Underground Cookery School

To finish what had already been a fab day out, we then headed to the Underground Cookery School for the bloggers event. I had a brilliant night learning new cooking skills, drinking lots of prosecco, meeting the other food bloggers and finally eating the delicious three course meal at the end. Read my full review of the Underground Cookery School here!

IMG_0656

Where are your favourite places to eat and drink in London? What’s your favourite thing to do in London?

7 thoughts on “Foodie Day in London

    • I’m boring and always always get the carrot cake as it’s just sooo good…wish I lived in London so I could go more often and try something else as it all looks SO good! 😀

Leave a Reply

