Other Foodie Things I’ve Been up to in April

I’ve done a lot of foodie things in April that I’ve just not had time to blog about. But there’s been so much great food and drink that I’ve wanted to share with you all, so I decided to sum up the extra foodie adventures I’ve had this month that didn’t make it onto my blog!

  • Whilst I was home for Easter, I went for a bite to eat with my best friend Hayley at my favourite lunchtime spot (and cocktail bar) in Loughborough, The Orange Tree. We had another great lunch here (their Elderflower Presse mocktail was lush!), and you can read the full review that I posted back in December of their food here.
  • Rib Nights training took me to Leicester and to the city’s best cocktail bar – Manhattan 34. In between work and meetings, I got the chance to make and try some classic cocktails for the first time too. My favourites were the French Martini and Clover Club…and I’ve since kept my eye out for them on other cocktail menus too so that I can have them again!
  • After only two days at home, I was already back in Birmingham…I can’t stay away! I went for a late lunch at Cafe Opus with my Mum and was pleasantly surprised by how good the food was! You can read my review of our delicious meal here on Dine Birmingham.

13

  • I attended the launch party for the newly refurbished MPW Champagne Bar in The Cube…picture glitz, glamour and lots of bubbly!!
  • Whether we’re in Loughborough or in Birmingham, me and my Mum will always end up in Revs when we’re out together. And this trip to Brum was no exception! We shared the yummy Vodka Pizza before drinking far too many cocktails until the early hours of the morning…
  • On Easter Sunday we went down to Essex to visit our family for the day, and I had my first Chinese takeaway in years. Not the most traditional Easter Sunday lunch but it was all really good, and we made up for it by having a yummy lamb roast dinner the following day instead.
  • I went back to Revs again a week later for more cocktails with three of my best friends from home – Hayley, Lucy and Lauren. They’ve just launched a new cocktail menu to go with their fab new look; my favourite was the Apple and Ginger Mojito, which is a pretty big statement coming from someone who normally hates ginger!

7950c5a8cbf811e381760002c9564d02_8

  • I went to Moseley Farmer’s Market for the first time, absolutely loved it and bought far too much food! I picked up a delicious caramelised red onion scotch egg (my first ever scotch egg..I’m a convert!) from Staffordshire Savory Scotch Eggs, a rump steak from Nene Valley Beef, toulouse sausages and chorizo from Wenlock Edge Farm, and pina colada jam from Holly & the Ivy (see all of my pics here!)

IMG_0723IMG_0707

  • I popped into the newly opened Turtle Bay for cocktails with Polly during their 241 happy hour! I was so impressed by the service here – the bar staff were so friendly and knowledgeable about all of their cocktails, and we were recommended the Bay Caipirinha which was a great choice!

Cocktail at Turtle Bay

  • I went to the Low n Slow Pop Up at Cherry Reds. The menu had me salivating at my computer screen, and the food did not disappoint. I demolished the most amazing 18 Hour Hickory Smoked Pulled Pork…it literally melted in my mouth and words fail me to describe just how good it tasted!! It came in a wonderfully soft brioche bun and topped with a tasty homemade mustard slaw and sticky BBQ sauce. If this wasn’t enough, it was served alongside delicious BBQ beans with bone marrow, smoked bacon and rib bits in, and cripsy American-style fries. I’m hesitant in using the word ‘best’ when describing food…but this really was THE BEST pulled pork I’ve ever had!!

IMG_0803

IMG_0798

2 thoughts on “Other Foodie Things I’ve Been up to in April

Leave a Reply

