New Food Menu at The Lost and Found

Earlier this week I was asked by one of my favourite cocktail bars in Birmingham, The Lost and Found, to come in and try out their new food menu. I’d been quite impressed by the classic British menu they had on offer when I visited at the start of the year (you can read all about it here), so I was excited to see what tasty new delights they had on the menu! So on Wednesday night me and Ashleigh went along for cocktails and a fab three course meal.

IMG_0858

Cocktails:

The cocktail menu hasn’t changed, to which I was thankful for as I’m not ready to part ways with my favourites off the menu just yet. However on this occasion I spotted one of my new favourite cocktails and couldn’t resist ordering it – Clover Club. And luckily it was just as good as I hoped it would be; a fantastic, well-balanced blend of gin, lemon juice, raspberry syrup and egg white. I’ll admit that I used to be scared of ordering cocktails with egg white in them, but since I’ve learnt the reasoning behind using them (it gives a wonderful rich, creamy texture to cocktails) I’ve embraced them with open arms and eagerly seek them out on menus now.

IMG_0861

IMG_0867

Ashleigh ordered my favourite cocktail off their menu – Raspberry Lemonade. Again the cocktail was expertly made and presented in the classic Lost and Found style that I’ve become accustomed to and love.

IMG_0860

IMG_0863

Food:

The Lost and Found are known for their creative flair with cocktails, and on first inspection of the menu it’s instantly obvious that they’re trying to get this style across in the food too. The menu is more grown up now…they’ve gone from classic pub grub with a few twists to more sophisticated, stylish dishes, but still at the same reasonable prices. They also offer a specials menu too now which makes a great addition to an already extensive menu.

Starters:

To start there was only ever one choice for me – Crispy Fried Goat’s Cheese with Beetroot and Horseradish Remoulade, Beetroot Puree and Onion Ash. I can’t get enough of goat’s cheese, and paired with beetroot it’s always a winning combination. I liked the contrasting textures of the crunchy coating, creamy goat’s cheese inside, smooth puree and crispy onions. It was heavenly, and for me it was the stand out dish of the night!

IMG_0852a

Ashleigh ordered the Tomato and Red Pepper Soup off the specials menu. She said it was tasty but surprisingly very spicy! Presentation wise they had got it spot on with the use of the wooden board – which is often just used to look quirky and can get in the way -but with this dish it actually worked and had a purpose to hold the soup bowl, bread and butter.

IMG_0864

Main:

After a week of lots and lots of red meat, I decided to have something different and went for the Lemon and Fennel Poached Salmon with Chargrilled Asparagus, Chorizo Oil, Poached Egg and Chorizo Crumb. The smoky chorizo worked really well with the crunchy, fresh asparagus and perfectly poached egg. Unfortunately I wasn’t a massive fan of the salmon; it’s a fish that I love on some occasions but other times I don’t enjoy it, so I had taken a gamble ordering it anyway. It was a nice dish, but it didn’t have the wow-factor I had been anticipating and I found myself wishing I had ordered the Maple and Soy Pork Belly with Creamed Savoy Cabbage, Lardons and Creamy Mash…at least I know what I’ll be ordering next time!

IMG_0854

Our other main was the Chargrilled Thyme Polenta with Wild Garlic, Courgette Spaghetti, Roast Pepper Puree and Italian Hard Cheese Shavings. Although the flavours of all the other components were great, it was the first time Ashleigh had tried polenta and she found the texture and flavour quite odd.

IMG_0865

Desserts:

For a non-chocolate eater like myself, nothing really jumped out at me from their dessert selection! But luckily for me they had one of my favourite desserts on their specials menu – a Lemon and Lime Cheesecake! I’m a bit of a cheesecake snob and rarely order it off a dessert menu as I’ve had too many bad ones in restaurants, but they managed to deliver a relatively decent one. The cheesecake topping was lusciously creamy and smooth, and the base was crunchy too. However the lemon and lime flavours were too subtle for my personal taste and it lacked that excellent sharp, tangy flavour you should get from citrus fruits.

IMG_0856

Ashleigh ordered the Peanut Butter Parfait with Peanut Brittle and Dark Chocolate Millefeuille, which received very high praise as she described it as amazing!

IMG_0866

Overall:

The Lost and Found have propelled their food offering with beautifully presented dishes and sophisticated flavour combinations. With reasonable prices and a wide variety on offer to suit all tastes, it is a great choice of venue if you’re looking for both great food and great cocktails! We had a fantastic meal here and I’ll definitely be visiting again to try more of their new dishes.

Disclosure: I was invited by The Lost and Found to review their new food menu, and all food and cocktails were complimentary. But as always all opinions expressed are honest and my own, and I was not required to write a positive review

7 thoughts on “New Food Menu at The Lost and Found

  1. I like the Lost and Found, the good options have improved and are varied. I find the vegetarian options are excellent and again varied. It is a good space for a quick or a long evening and with the cocktail menu is very indulgent and fun. I like your review.

    Vegiefoodie.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

