Pure Bar and Kitchen

Earlier this week, I finally got a chance to go to Pure Bar and Kitchen to try out their food. I thought this venue was going to be all about the craft beer and drinking, but on the night they proved that they also do excellent food here too. Now I’m not a fan of beer at all, but the way the staff spoke to us about them made even a beer hater like myself want to drink them all. They were so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their craft beers and able to describe the flavour and essence of each in detail, allowing them to match a beer with the food we were eating.

IMG_0013

Despite it being a Tuesday night, the venue was completely packed out and it had a lively, bustling atmosphere. It’s prime location in Colmore Business District attracts an after work crowd every night of the week, yet it’s reputation for great beer and food appears to be bringing in customers from all over the city, and there was a mixed crowd when we visited.

Food:

We decided to share five of the ‘small plates’ between the three of us, each of which was perfectly executed and delicious. First off I tried the Black Pudding with Fried Egg and Homemade Brown Sauce. I really enjoyed the combination of the runny egg yolk with the tasty, chunky black pudding, and it looked appealing served in a mini frying pan too.

IMG_0024

I’ve only recently discovered the wonder that is the Scotch Egg and I’ve not looked back since. Pure’s offering of a traditional Scotch Egg with Beer Ketchup was perfect. It had a wonderfully gooey centre, and went really well with the crispy potato straws and tasty beer ketchup too.

IMG_0023

The Mac and Cheese with Bacon was so indulgent and comforting. The macaroni was generously coated in a luxurious, creamy cheese sauce, complete with salty bacon bits and a crunchy topping too. My first mac n cheese was certainly a good one, and it’s set the bar high.

IMG_0012

Next up, the Mini Beer Battered Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas. The fish was soft and chunky and surrounded in a crispy yet light batter that wasn’t greasy at all. However I wasn’t a massive fan of the chips, finding them too dry and not crispy enough.

IMG_0015

Finally we had the Faggots and Mushy Peas with UBU Onion Gravy which completed a delicious round of small, tapas-style dishes. The onion gravy was slightly too sweet, but the faggot was meaty and so flavoursome.

IMG_0016

Initially I turned down dessert, but when the Peanut Butter Ice Cream, Hot Caramel Bananas and Peanut Brittle arrived I couldn’t resist digging in too as it looked fantastic. And I’m so glad I did as it was delicious! A heavenly combination of nutty ice cream, bananas coated in a hot, sticky caramel sauce and a crunchy, nutty brittle on top. We shared it between the three of us, but I could have easily eaten the whole thing to myself…and I was tempted to!

IMG_0019

Overall:

Pure have hit the nail on the head with their food menu and I’m already looking forward to going back again soon for more of their fantastic food and beer combinations. The ‘small plates’ are perfect to share for a relaxed dinner, but I’m also keen to try some of their main dishes too (I loved the sound of the pork belly!). The prices are reasonable, and the food is all presented in an eye-catching, attractive way.

Disclosure: I paid for my own meal and drinks, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

2 thoughts on “Pure Bar and Kitchen

  1. A good review, I’ve enjoyed the beer there, but found the food menu lacked good veggie options. There weren’t any on the small plates which was disappointing, but maybe that has now changed. The atmosphere there is good, so maybe worth another visit. Glad you enjoyed it.

    Vegiefoodie.com

Leave a Reply

