New Inn

During my birthday celebrations at the weekend, me and my family went to the New Inn in Harborne to celebrate with some food and cocktails. The restaurant was quieter than I had expected it to be for a Saturday night, but there was still a great atmosphere and I quickly settled into my seat next the toasty fire and poured over the menu.

IMG_0092

Cocktails:

It comes as no surprise that the New Inn has an extensive and exciting cocktail menu on offer seeing as it’s part of the Bitter ‘n’ Twisted group along with some of Birmingham’s best cocktail bars. And the quality was just as good here too. I started with one of my favourite cocktails, a French Martini – Absolut Vanilla, Chambord and Pineapple Juice. Although it wasn’t the best version of this cocktail I’ve ever had, I still really enjoyed it as it was well balanced and creamy.

IMG_0103

We also had the Singapore Sling, Mojito and Palm Springs which were all great too!

IMG_0104IMG_0109

Food:

I love scallops but very rarely get to have them, so spotting the Sauteed Scallops with Smoked Duck, Pickled Cucumber and Wasabi Mayonnaise dish on the specials menu was a great surprise! When it arrived, it looked so appetizing and I couldn’t wait to try it all. The scallops were perfectly cooked and so delicious. The duck was tender too, and it went really well with the light salad and subtle yet tasty wasabi mayonnaise.

IMG_0106

My Mum ordered the Duck Scotch Egg with Spiced Orange Salad and Duck Skin Crackling which I eyed up enviously. She really enjoyed her starter too and said all the components were cooked really well and it tasted great.

IMG_0108

Last year when I dined at the New Inn I had the most fantastic steak, so much so that I had to order one again this time round. I can’t think of anything better than steak and chips, and this one didn’t let me down! I went for the 8oz Rump Steak with Beef Dripping Chips, and again it was cooked perfectly for my liking and it was one of the best cooked steaks I’ve had in a restaurant. I ordered some Diane Sauce on the side too which was creamy and flavoursome but too thin, and a portion of Sauteed Button Mushrooms which were slightly undercooked.

IMG_0125

Once again I was jealous of my Mum’s choice as she had the Duo of New Season Lamb with Sweet Potato Mash, Garlic Green Beans, and Rosemary and Red Wine Jus for her main. Even more so after I tried some of the creamy sweet potato mash and tasty red wine jus!

IMG_0126

My Dad ordered the Traditional Beer Battered Fish and Chips and also enjoyed the crispy chips as much as I did too. The batter wasn’t greasy at all and the fish was soft inside.

They regularly change the dessert menu at the New Inn, however on this occasion there wasn’t anything we liked the sound of and most of us decided against dessert…plus we had my birthday cake waiting for us at home too! My brother couldn’t resist ordering the Chocolate Brownie with Vanilla Ice Cream and Honeycomb though, and seeing as it was devoured in less than a minute to the sound of lots of ‘mmms’ I’d say it went down very well!

IMG_0127

Overall:

We all loved our evening at the New Inn – the food and cocktail menus are extensive, with something for everyone, and the execution is spot on. Add in great service and a warm, friendly atmosphere and it makes for an all-round fantastic experience. We’ll no doubt be back again next time my family is visiting me in Birmingham!

 

Disclosure: I paid for my own meal and drinks, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

10 thoughts on “New Inn

  1. Looks a great place. Not tried it yet, but will check on veggie options which I’m sure will be good too knowing their other bars as I do. Vegiefoodie.com

    • They currently have Mediterranean Vegetable Risotto and a Feta and Beetroot Tortellini on the menu at the moment 🙂 if the food we had is anything to go by, the vegetarian options will be excellent too!

      • They sound delicious. Thanks for noticing the options. So many people don’t I assure you. Sounds like you had a load of fun and a birthday full of foodie moments. I like the sound of the cocktails to. Always a nice change with food. Thanks again. I will definitely cast my veggie net into the New inn.

Leave a Reply

