May Round Up

May is always my busiest, but my best, month of the year and this one was no exception. Lots of food and cocktails were consumed (mainly during my birthday celebrations!) and as always I made my way around plenty of Birmingham’s best restaurants and bars. Here’s what I’ve been up to on my blog in May…

1. New Food Menu at The Lost and Found

At the start of the month, I was invited for a delicious three course meal at The Lost and Found to try out their fab new food menu. I loved the sophisticated transformation the menu has undertaken, and I’m looking forward to heading back soon for more of their food and cocktails.

IMG_0867IMG_0852a

2. Sausage Meatballs and Pesto Mash For One

I love it when an experimental recipe actually works (I’ve had lots of times when it hasn’t!!) and luckily this was one of those times when it did work. Creamy pesto mash with a garlicky tomato sauce and meatballs made from the tasty Toulouse sausages I picked up from Moseley Farmer’s Market – it was a winner!

IMG_0948 3. The Rose Villa Tavern

I’ve been so busy recently that I completely forgot to post my review of The Rose Villa Tavern from March! But better late than never, here’s what I thought of the burgers and cocktails at this Bitter ‘N’ Twisted venue.

 IMG_0104

4. The Edgbaston 

A glamorous new cocktail bar in Birmingham opened this month, and of course I had to go and check it out! I really liked The Edgbaston and it’s definitely worth a visit for some of their fantastic cocktails.

IMG_1055

5. Tomato, Pesto and Wild Garlic Soup

I used to spend way too much money buying tins of tomato soup, but it’s so much cheaper, quicker and tastier making your own. Try out this recipe for a healthy tomato soup!

IMG_1099

6. Vietnamese Beef Pho For One

I’ve fallen in love with Vietnamese food recently…so much so that I’ve booked a one day Vietnamese cooking class in London with Uyen Luu in August. But before then, I decided to try out the Vietnamese Beef Pho spice I picked up from Spice Mountain at Borough Market to make a quick and tasty version of this classic dish.

IMG_1119

7. BBC Good Food Bakes & Cakes Show

This year sees the launch of the brand new BBC Good Food Bakes & Cakes Show…it’s set to be every cake-lovers dream with free masterclasses, hundreds of baking products to purchase, and TV’s best baking heroes taking to stage! I’ve got an exclusive offer for my readers too – just quote EBPAR1 when purchasing to receive 25% off tickets! Buy your tickets here – http://www.bbcgoodfoodbakesandcakesshow.com/?utm_source=taylahc25&utm_medium=Blog&utm_campaign=taylahc25

Print

8. BBC Good Food Show Bloggers Community Meet Up at Brompton Cookery School

I’m extremely excited to be joining the BBC Good Food Show Blogger’s Community this year, and my excitement only increased when I had a great day at blogger’s the meet up at Brompton Cookery School this month. If you haven’t got your ticket yet for this summer’s BBC Good Food Show, you can get 15% off tickets to this summer’s BBC Good Food Show by quoting ‘BSF20’ – call 08445811341 or buy them online here.

IMG_1036

9. Purnell’s Bistro

I had the most fantastic meal at Purnell’s Bistro this month, and would go as far as to say it was the best meal out I’ve had in 2014. I can’t wait to go back soon!!

IMG_1065

10. Black Garlic Pesto and Prawn Tagliatelle For One

The first of many recipes using the wonderful The Garlic Farm products! First up we have their delicious Black Garlic Pesto in a simple but tasty pasta dish with lots of juicy King Prawns. Perfect for a midweek meal…you’ll find it hard not to keep adding more and more of their pesto!

IMG_1171

11. Pure Bar and Kitchen

I was dubious as to whether a craft beer venue could step up to the mark and produce quality food too. But they 100% did and managed to exceed my expectations by delivering a truly fantastic meal…with the most amazing dessert too! If you haven’t been to Pure Bar and Kitchen yet, make it your next stop on the Birmingham food scene.

IMG_0023

12. Birthday Celebrations

My birthday was always going to include endless amounts of food and cocktails! And with the addition of THREE surprise birthday cakes/cupcakes, I came out the other side in a food/cake/cocktail-induced high after a fab weekend celebrating with all my lovely friends and family!

IMG_0134

13. New Inn

Fantastic steak and cocktails – what’s not to love about the New Inn?! It was the perfect birthday meal and I can’t wait to go back for more of their succulent steak and exciting cocktails soon.

IMG_0125

What to Expect on My Blog in June:

Leave a Reply

