June Round Up

I’ve been suffering with blog withdrawal after 11 days of no blogging! But now I’m back from an amazing holiday in Portugal and ready for another month of blogging fun! June was a quiet month on the review front, and I spent a lot of time trying out new recipes at home instead. As much as I love eating out, it’s also great being able to cook yummy dishes at home and expand my recipe collection! Here’s what I got up to on my blog in June…

1. Raja Monkey Cafe

At the end of May, me and Polly celebrated our birthday’s together with a delicious meal at Raja Monkey Cafe. I’m already looking forward to our weekend in London at the start of August to visit Street Feast London and to attend a Vietnamese cooking class!

IMG_0197

2. Cocktail Masterclass at Revolution Birmingham

I had an amazing time at the Revs cocktail masterclass! We made and drank lots of fab cocktails, didn’t stop laughing all night, and just had the best time! Perfect for a birthday, special occasion or if you just fancy a different night out…book yours now and you won’t regret it!

IMG_0315

3. Nutella Cheesecake

It’s official – I’ve got the cheesecake making bug! And this nutella cheesecake went down so well with everyone. I’m hoping to experiment with lots of new cheesecake flavours this month too, so watch this space for more recipes to follow.

IMG_0217

4. Summer Pesto and Roasted Tomato Cous Cous For One

From the deliciously indulgent and naughty cheesecake above to something a lot lighter and healthier! Cous cous makes a great alternative to rice/pasta/potatoes and is perfect for the hot summer evenings we’ve had recently.

IMG_0373

5. Goat’s Cheese and Caramelised Onion Stuffed Chicken Breast For One

I love the simplicity of a stuffed chicken breast, and with The Garlic Farm’s delicious Onion Marmalade it’s even better! And everything is amazing with goat’s cheese!! But if you don’t like goat’s cheese, you can swap it for any cheese you like.

IMG_0527

6. Spaghetti Carbonara For One

Try out my healthier and admittedly non-traditional, take on this classic Italian pasta dish.

IMG_0501

7. BBC Good Food Show Summer

The BBC Good Food Show has to be the ultimate foodie day out! And this summer’s show was no exception as I enjoyed eating and buying all of the yummy food on offer as part of my role as a BBC Good Food Show Blogger. It returns again in November for the Winter show and I’m already excited!

IMG_0566

8. Design My Night Birmingham – Bun & Bowl

IMG_0639 IMG_0644

9. Champagne Afternoon Tea at the Laurent Perrier Champagne Bar

Afternoon tea may just be my new favourite thing to do. Spending the afternoon sipping champagne and eating cake…it doesn’t get much better than that really! Especially when I get to enjoy it with one of my favourite people – my Mum!

IMG_1160IMG_1150

10. Satay Chicken Noodle Soup For One

When my Mum came to visit last month we did something very out of character for us…we stayed in on the Saturday night and cooked dinner! Yep, you read that right – we made dinner instead of eating out!! And I decided it was time to introduce her to one of my favourite things at the moment…noodle soups! She loved it as much as I did, and the result was this delicious satay chicken noodle soup.

IMG_0603

What to Expect on My Blog in July:

July will see more recipe experimenting in my kitchen, especially since I’ve added two new cookbooks to my collection with Persiana by Sabrina Ghayour and Cheesecake by Hannah Miles! I’ll also be out and about in Birmingham on more food and cocktail adventures as always. I haven’t got any restaurant reviews planned yet, but I’m hoping that will change as the month goes on!

2 thoughts on “June Round Up

Leave a Reply

