A Week of Food and Cocktails in Portugal

On Wednesday I got back from an amazing week in sunny Albufeira in Portugal with my best friend Hayley. We spent a relaxing week away sunbathing, drinking lots of cocktails and eating lots of yummy food.

IMG_0789

IMG_0805

I’m a food blogger, so of course I took lots of pictures of all the food and drinks we had. So here’s what we ate and drank during the week….

Night One – our flight was delayed for a good few hours, so we didn’t arrive at our hotel until after 11 at night. On our way we were taken down the lively strip and our driver decided to turn it into something resembling a safari by driving soo slowly that we got to get a good look at the busy nightlife! Steering clear of the craziness (at least for the first night), we set out to the Old Town in search of some food and ended up at one of the few restaurants that was still open and serving food after midnight. We started with Garlic Bread, which set off a week long obsession of us having it pretty much every night for the rest of the holiday. This was then followed by a delicious creamy, cheesy Lasagne. 

 IMG_0798

Starting as we meant to go on, we ordered these HUGE Mango Daiquiris! The first of many cocktails during our holiday…

IMG_0799

Night Two became pizza night and I enjoyed this Chicken, Pesto and Mozzarella Pizza. Although I would of liked a thinner, crispier base and more pesto, it was a winning combination of flavours and I happily made my way through it.

IMG_0826

10422971_4312949919276_5445694323277131480_n

More cocktails, this time with a Tequila Sunrise – complete with sparklers and ridiculously long straws of course!

IMG_0828

We then moved onto a karaoke bar for more cocktails and stayed here all night watching and singing along to everyone’s attempts at the classics (don’t worry we didn’t get up and sing ourselves!). We loved it here so much that we ended up going back on 5 out of the 7 nights we were in Portugal!

10443648_4312960799548_843364571411845797_n10438192_4312960199533_7679834897503273750_n

One of my favourite cocktails at home is a pina colada, so I couldn’t resist ordering their Strawberry Colada again and again throughout the week. The Strawberry Daquiri was great too, and I was excited to see so many different flavours of this frozen cocktail on pretty much every menu!

IMG_0831IMG_0838

IMG_0835

Friday night (Night Three) was fajita night – which is always the best sort of night in my opinion! We started off with Strawberry Daiquiris at the Mexican restaurant, before sharing a cheesy mountain of Nachos and Chicken Fajitas.

IMG_0842

Then it was back to the karaoke bar again where I had a fab Strawberry Mojito. It was probably my favorite off their menu, and by the end of the holiday they automatically knew my order there as I had drank it so much! There was lots of dancing to some cheesy classics (the likes of Cha Cha Slide, etc) and a very funny moment when a runaway granny decided to join the dancing group during the night too…

IMG_0844

IMG_0853IMG_0858

Night Four saw our first night visiting the New Town, where we started off with a delicious three course meal before stopping off in a few cocktail bars along the strip for Sex on the Beach cocktails.

IMG_0899

After some Garlic Bread, I tucked into Chicken with Mushroom Sauce and Chips – my favourite meal every time I go on holiday as I am obsessed with mushrooms!

IMG_0907

IMG_0908

We treated ourselves to dessert with a Crepe with Strawberries and Vanilla Ice Cream. It’s like an unwritten rule for us that we have to get a crepe on holiday! And this one was delicious topped with plenty of fresh strawberries and sweet ice cream.

IMG_0910

On Night Five we decided to stick to the Old Town for the rest of the holiday as there’s a better selection of restaurants and more chilled cocktail bars here. We ate at one of the many restaurants facing the beach and the sea..somewhere we didn’t visit during the day as we both hate sand!

IMG_0824

As soon as I saw the Deep Fried Goats Cheese and Sweet Chilli Sauce on the menu, I knew I had to order it as goat’s cheese is one of my favourite foods! I wasn’t disappointed as I tucked into the gooey, cheesy heaven on a plate.

IMG_0937

I had the Swordfish Steak with a Creamy Prawn Sauce for my main course. It was my first time trying swordfish and I was pleasantly surprised by the meatiness of the fish, which was complimented nicely by the creamy, mild prawn sauce.

IMG_0940a

The week literally flew by, and before we knew it we had reached the penultimate night! Following a starter of Garlic Bread (told you we had it a lot!), I tucked into this Penne al Pollo. It was tasty and had plenty of creamy, mushroom sauce coating the pasta, but I couldn’t help feeling jealous of Hayley’s huge bowl of creamy Spaghetti Carbonara!

IMG_0958IMG_0957

I love getting ice cream on holiday as there’s always so many flavours to choose from. We both got Toffee Ice Cream and were served up 2 of the biggest scoops I have ever seen in my life! It’s safe to say that we both failed at finishing it off!

IMG_0959

My favourite meal of the week by far was on the last night. We started with Garlic Bread – by this point we’d had it almost every night so it would have been rude not to! The portion size was slightly on the larger side, but it was too deliciously moreish and garlicky to put down!

IMG_1013

For our main we both had the Roasted Duck Breast with Dauphinoise Potatoes, Port Sauce and Confit Shallots. The duck was flavoursome and tender, and this was paired with creamy potatoes and sweet, caramelised shallots. It was the standout dish of the holiday for me.

IMG_1015

It was the last night, so we couldn’t not have a dessert too! I spied the Hazelnut and Pistachio Semifreddo with Red Berry Compote on the specials menu and couldn’t resist ordering it. I’m so glad that I did as the creamy semifreddo was studded with crunchy hazelnuts and pistachios, adding extra texture and a delicious nutty flavour. It was a light and perfect end to the meal and to our holiday!

IMG_1016

That concludes an amazing week in Portugal, and it’s safe to say I already have holiday blues and am already on countdown to my next holiday in September!!

2 thoughts on “A Week of Food and Cocktails in Portugal

Leave a Reply

