KERB Southbank Centre

KERB is a street food event that can be found popping up all over London, and on Saturday I headed to KERB Southbank Centre for my first taste of London street food. And guess what? I absolutely loved it!

IMG_1592

For 5 weekends over the summer, KERB have been setting up at Southbank Centre with 30 street food traders, a beer bar, a cocktail bar and DJs. Add in some sunny weather (which we were lucky enough to get!), and it made for one of the best summer days out I’ve had in a long time!

IMG_1617

The atmosphere was fantastic! There’s just something about getting a group of food-loving people together to enjoy some amazing food that really creates a happy, vibrant buzz! There’s plenty of seating too so you can relax, soak in the atmosphere and enjoy your food; it also makes maneuvering even the messiest of dishes from plate to mouth a much easier task!

IMG_1616

We made a beeline for Donostia Social Club to try one of their Morcilla Pintxo. This tasty little morsel of fresh bread, Spanish chorizo and perfectly fried quails egg was a fab start to our KERB experience and whet our appetite for all the food to come! I also loved that they had a little bar and seating area attached to the front of their van too, so that it actually felt like a mini Spanish tapas and sangria bar.

DSCF0156

IMG_1589

IMG_1587

We were blessed with gloriously sunny weather when we visited, so we were in desperate need of a drink before we could pick up any more food. And why not a cocktail? We both got the Tequila Negroni – Tequila, Martini Rosso, Campari and Grapefruit Juice – from Manhattans Project. It packed a big punch (maybe a little too much for lunchtime), but it was still refreshing and just what we needed on a hot day!

IMG_1596

IMG_1597

IMG_1609

IMG_1599

I knew before I even arrived at KERB that I wanted to stop at Bao to try their Pork Bao Bun – Braised Pork, Peanut Powder and Coriander in a Steamed Milk BunAnd luckily I wasn’t disappointed… The soft, pillowy milk bun was filled with plenty of tender pork and then topped with lots of crunchy, salty peanuts which just completed the dish. It was one of the most deliciously moreish, tasty things I’ve ever eaten! My first Bao Bun experience was unforgettable, and if you’ve never tried one then you need to seek out Bao now!!

IMG_1601IMG_1602

IMG_1603

Next up I headed to CrabbieShack (the winners of the London Heat of the British Street Food Awards) for a Soft Shell Crab Burger. You can choose from a selection of toppings and I went for the Pomegranate, Harissa, Red Onion, Coriander and Red Cabbage option; the sweetness of the pomegranate and red cabbage really complimented the crab, whilst the harissa added some heat and extra flavour. The soft shell crab itself was tender and coated in a perfectly crisp, crunchy batter with not a spot of grease in sight! It’s clear to see why they’re so popular, and it made a nice change to a have a different type of burger.

 IMG_1612

My Mum isn’t a fan of fish and seafood, so opted for the 53 Hour Pulled Pork & Beef from BBQ Lab instead. I eyed it up enviously as she enthusiastically made her way through the meaty heaven in a brioche bun!

IMG_1606

IMG_1615

I couldn’t resist going back to Donostia Social Club for their Braised Iberico Pork Cheek with Butter Bean Puree and I am SO glad I did as it was the best street food I’ve ever had! Melt in the mouth pork cheek in the most delicious sauce on top of a smooth, perfectly seasoned butter bean puree. Truly amazing! It was one of those dishes you find yourself still talking about for days after, and I’ve since been searching for where they’re trading over the next few weeks so I can get another Donostia Social Club fix asap!

IMG_1625

I was completely stuffed by the end and only wish I’d had room to fit in some noodles from Hanoi Kitchen, the Braised Duck & Pork from Bill or Beak, a Chicken Katsu Sandwich from Yu Kyu, and some ice cream from Sorbitium Ices. Which gives me the perfect excuse to visit again very soon (not that I need one when the food is this good!!)…So it’s a good job you can also find KERB at:

6 thoughts on “KERB Southbank Centre

Leave a Reply

