Street Feast at Dalston Yard

Last weekend I headed down to London with Polly for our Vietnamese Cooking Class with Uyen Luu, and when we booked it I suggested that we head down a day early to make a proper weekend of it. My ulterior motive of course was so that we could go to Street Feast at Dalston Yard on the Saturday night…and we were so glad we did!!

 IMG_1926

The atmosphere was fantastic and there was a real collective buzz as everyone feasted on the delicious street food! Despite it only being at Dalston Yard for 20 weeks, they’ve gone all out to put their stamp on it and I really liked the way they had decked out venue. There’s plenty of seating too so you don’t have to juggle your food and drinks, and making it so chilled that you end up spending all night here.

Every street food trader I visited was so friendly and enthusiastic about what they were doing. I loved that most of them had smaller dishes or mini versions of dishes on offer, so that you had room to try as much food as possible from the 16 or so traders all offering the most tempting food! But it’s not just about the food at Street Feast either as there are plenty of choices for drinks too with cocktails, wine, beer, a tequila tree house and a rum shack! I started with a Frozen Paloma which was refreshing, zingy and the perfect start to the night.

IMG_1882

IMG_1881

Later in the night I also had a Giant Pina Colada from the Rum Shack, and I have to say it was best pina colada I’ve ever had (and I’ve drank a lot of them this summer on holiday and in Birmingham)!!

IMG_1901

IMG_1934

Onto the food, and I stopped off at Rola Wala first for one of their naan sliders. 3 for £9 was a very tempting deal, but in the interest of getting around lots of different traders I decided to just go for one…a tough decision when they all sounded so good! I picked the vegetarian option of Paneer Chana Dal – beetroot channa dal with paneer, served with a mint and pineapple chutney – and definitely didn’t regret my decision! There were so many different flavours going on yet it was perfectly balanced, and with a gentle heat that tantalized the taste buds. The contrast in textures between the soft cheese and smooth beetroot with the crunchy, light naan base completed this small but perfectly formed bite of Indian street food!

IMG_1884

IMG_1887

Our stomachs were now calling out for more great street food, so we made our way to Breddos Tacos and shared a plate of the Crunchy Nut Fried Chicken Tacos with Hot Raspberry Sauce. Although I couldn’t particularly taste the raspberry sauce, I completely forgot about it after taking a bite of the succulent chicken with its nutty, crunchy and utterly delicious coating. Thumbs up for the tacos!

IMG_1890

IMG_1891

Although we knew we’d be having an Asian feast with plenty of noodles the following day, the delicious aromas coming from Mama Wang’s Kitchen drew us in and our resolve was broken as we both ordered the Biang Biang Noodles with Slow Braised Pork Belly and a Rich Sweet Soy Sauce. The Biang Biang noodles were hand-pulled in front of us (it was amazing watching the women work with such speed and skill!) and I absolutely loved the texture and taste of them. It was completed with succulent pork belly, crunchy vegetables, a delicious sauce and salty crushed peanuts.

IMG_1898

IMG_1899

We somehow still had room for one more savoury dish, and this time it was with a Lobster Roll from Bobs Lobster. We shared the full sized one below between the two of us and admittedly it was really quite small for it’s £14 price tag, so I’m not sure if I would have it again as I felt that you didn’t get a lot for your money. I was also disappointed that the brioche roll was toasted, so it tasted like a classic brioche but was lacking that wonderful soft texture you normally get. However the lobster itself was juicy and succulent and the sauce was tasty, so I’m glad I got to try it at least once.

IMG_1911

The star of the night for me however was the Blueberry Cheesecake Cupcake from Kooky Bakes. It was seriously amazing!! A moist, soft and utterly delicious blueberry cupcake topped with the most creamy, indulgent buttercream that literally tasted like cheesecake. Best cupcake ever? YES!!

IMG_1914

IMG_1923

Everything about Street Feast is exciting – the food, the drinks, the atmosphere and the venue! It’s a must-visit if you’re in London for a really great night out, so go to Street Feast NOW!! But be quick – it’s only at Dalston Yard until the 27th September! You can also check out their other two events Model Market in Lewisham and Riverside Feast at Battersea Power Station in London too.

5 thoughts on “Street Feast at Dalston Yard

  1. The food looks soooo good! And thank you for putting the dates in, I initially thought that I wouldn’t get to London on time to go but now I’ve realised that I can! Yay

Leave a Reply

