Mum’s Birthday Weekend in Birmingham

At the weekend my Mum came to Birmingham to celebrate her birthday in the only way we know how to…with lots of food and cocktails! We had the best weekend together with lots of lovely (and funny!) memories created. Here’s what we got up to whilst celebrating…

Purnell’s Bistro

On Friday evening, I treated my Mum to an excellent meal at Purnell’s Bistro. We arrived early to have a cocktail in Ginger’s Bar first and I had The Passionetto – Amaretto, Briottet Passion, Passion Fruit Puree, Lime and Cloudy Apple – which was fruity, zingy and refreshing. My Mum had the Raspberry and Elderflower Bellini which she enjoyed so much that she had another two during the night…well we were celebrating after all!

IMG_2668

IMG_2666

I couldn’t resist ordering the same starter and main course as I had the first time I went here as they were just so good (read all about them here!), and they were equally great the second time round too. My Mum also loved her Hen’s Scotch Egg starter and the Rump Steak with Hand Cut Chips for mains. And to end our fantastic meal we both had this delicious Strawberry Meringue dessert that tasted just as good as it looked.

IMG_2669

As if our night at Purnell’s Bistro couldn’t get any better, my Mum received a lovely birthday surprise when head chef Michael Dipple brought out this birthday dessert plate and some champagne for us both!

IMG_2670

Cocktails at Revs

Following our delicious meal, we headed to Revs for more cocktails…and a birthday cake shot for my Mum too of course! We had the best night here with fantastic cocktails, service and atmosphere as always.

 IMG_2659

IMG_2629

Brunch at Ju Ju’s Cafe

We started Saturday off with a lazy brunch at our favourite spot in Birmingham – Ju Ju’s Cafe. I had the absolutely delicious and unbeatable Breakfast Sandwich, whilst my Mum had the flawless Fully Monty.

IMG_2682

IMG_2681

Julia also surprised my Mum with one of her fab cupcakes too for her birthday!

IMG_2685

Coffee at The Balcony

On Sunday we headed to the Bullring for a girly shopping trip, including a quick coffee break at The Balcony in Selfridges.

IMG_2700

IMG_2701 IMG_2702

Afternoon Tea at Hotel La Tour

What better way to end of weekend of birthday celebrations than with the most fantastic afternoon tea? Hotel La Tour certainly lived up to its high reputation with it’s delicious savoury treats and exciting desserts, and I’ll be posting my full review of it later this month.

IMG_2721

4 thoughts on “Mum’s Birthday Weekend in Birmingham

Leave a Reply

