Malmaison

Last month I was sent by DesignMyNight Birmingham to review Malmaison, and you can read the review I wrote for them here. I also wanted to post something on my blog too as the food had been so fantastic that I wanted to go into more detail about the fab three courses and cocktails me and Katie had here!

Atmosphere:

When we walked in I was admittedly a little daunted by the sophisticated, stylish setting. But luckily it wasn’t pretentious here at all! Both the bar and restaurant areas were bustling with conversation and life, lending to an exciting, inviting atmosphere. Yet it was still relaxed and we  quickly settled in for an easy and enjoyable evening at Malmaison.

IMG_1784

Cocktails:

Never one for a glass of wine, I asked for a cocktail menu from their bar straightaway. We both eagerly ordered a Pina Colada, and although there was quite a wait on our cocktails arriving, they were so worth waiting for! These were SO good, like seriously really really good! We’d both been craving a pina colada for weeks and weeks, and this one was just so perfect that we had to order another one each. Last year I had the best pina colada I’d ever had at The Lost and Found, and I have to say I think this one beat it!

IMG_1813

IMG_1783

Food:

We decided to order from the Mal Summer Classics menu which offers 2 courses for £19.95 or 3 courses for £24.95, which I thought was great value for money for the quality of food we got! I started with the French Goat’s Cheese Crostini, Fresh Peas, Broad Bean, Mint, Watercress and Roasted Walnuts. The combination of flavours was fantastic, but I personally would of liked more goat’s cheese and more broad beans.

IMG_1773

IMG_1820

Katie chose the Iberico Ham, Fresh Peach, Manchego, Pesto Croute and Extra Virgin Olive Oil for her starter. She said the ham and peach went perfectly together and that it was a great example of a savoury-sweet combination thatworks well.

IMG_1788

The Char-Grilled Double Chicken Breast, Thai Salad, Toasted Peanuts, Coriander and Chilli Dressing had caught both of our eyes from the mains, and we were both so glad we ordered it as it was a truly fantastic dish! The dressing was just delicious; I was worried that it might be too spicy with the chilli, but it wasn’t at all and instead it added a pleasant heat to the dish. Add in the most succulent chicken breast and a fresh crunchy salad, both tasting of wonderful Thai flavours, and it was a winning main course. It was surprisingly really filling too so we felt satisfied but not sluggish, and I’ll definitely be having more salads when I eat out from now on.

IMG_1791

Although I liked the sound of the Mixed Berry Pavlova with Passion Fruit Cream and the Peach & Raspberry Crumble Sundae off the fixed price menu, as soon as I saw the Sticky Toffee Pudding with Vanilla Ice Cream and Pecan Caramel Sauce on their normal menu I knew I just had to have it! This is my all-time favourite dessert and I find that I’m normally quite a tough critic when it comes to trying sticky toffee puddings now. Verdict on Malmaison’s Sticky Toffee Pud – amazing! The sponge was just so light and moist, and they’d poured over just the right amount of the sticky, sweet sauce. The addition of the pecan nuts on top only added to an already heavenly dessert; they were sweet, caramelised and utterly moreish, and we both agreed we could of happily made our way through a whole bag of them.

IMG_1795

IMG_1799

Overall:

Malmaison combines everything that I look for when I’m eating out in Birmingham – delicious food, fantastic cocktails, friendly and attentive service, and a relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere. It really did have it all, and I can’t recommend it enough for your next dining destination here.

 

Disclosure: I was invited by Malmaison to review their venue for DesignMyNight Birmingham, and all food and cocktails were complimentary. But as always all opinions expressed are honest and my own, and I was not required to write a positive review

2 thoughts on “Malmaison

Leave a Reply

