September Round Up

September was a slightly quieter month on the blogging side with a week in Greece and lots of busy weekends. But it was far from quiet on the eating and drinking front, and I now have lots of exciting posts lined up to share in the upcoming weeks. Here’s what I got up to in September first though…

1. Mad Hatter’s Afternoon Tea at The Jekyll and Hyde

I already knew they did cocktails extremely well, but I was pleasantly surprised to find out that The Jekyll and Hyde also know how to put on a great afternoon tea too!

10628470_10204863777537188_4160873276051269544_n

2. Product Review: #Moms Good Home Cooking

I love cooking and in the whole two years I’ve lived away from home in Birmingham (mostly as a student) I’ve never once ordered a takeaway! So it was going to take a lot to win me around to the idea of a food delivery service, and #Moms Good Home Cooking managed to do exactly that.

IMG_2130

3. Mum’s Birthday Weekend in Birmingham

At the start of the month, my Mum came up to Birmingham for the weekend to celebrate her birthday. Lots of cocktails were drank and lots of food was eaten (of course!), and we had the best time together.

IMG_2670IMG_2685

4. DesignMyNight Birmingham – Nuvo

This month I was asked by DesignMyNight Birmingham to review the cocktails and new tapas menu at Nuvo, and you can read my review here.

IMG_2539

5. Afternoon Tea at Hotel La Tour

I’ve become a little obsessed with afternoon tea recently, so it was only a matter of time before I ticked Hotel La Tour off my to-do list after hearing so many great things about theirs. So during my Mum’s weekend of birthday celebrations, we headed here to try it out and I discovered the best afternoon tea I’ve had in Birmingham.

IMG_2721

6. Garlic and Rosemary Lamb, Butternut Squash and Feta Wraps

Lamb, butternut squash and feta may just be my new favourite combination. And served in wraps, it makes for a delicious yet unfussy midweek meal.

IMG_2167

7. Maple and Pecan Flapjacks

I hosted a Macmillan Coffee Morning at work this month (we raised £210!), and made these yummy Maple and Pecan Flapjacks for the event.

IMG_3060

8. Malmaison

I had the most fantastic food and cocktails at Malmaison last month when I went to review it for DesignMyNight Birmingham. I’m still dreaming about the pina coladas me and Katie had there…

IMG_1782

What to Expect on My Blog in October:

I’ve got a bit of a backlog of blog posts from over the Summer, so October will see lots of reviews from the last few months. As well as a few product reviews and recipes thrown in for good measure too..!

Leave a Reply

