Alfie Birds

Last month I was asked by DesignMyNight Birmingham to review Alfie Birds in The Custard Factory (read my review here). After just one visit, it became one of my new favourite venues in Birmingham and I just couldn’t resist featuring it on my blog too!

 IMG_3342

Before I even got to the cocktails, food and service, it was the chilled, easy atmosphere which won me round so quickly at Alfie Birds. And I loved the quirky, mix-matched furniture (especially the egg-shaped chairs!), and unfussy but cool style they’ve adopted here. I really could picture myself coming back again and again to chill with friends over cocktails (and definitely plan to!), particularly in their upstairs Tequila Cocktail Bar which was my favourite of the four floors to this venue.

IMG_3341

The service was great too! The staff were friendly and chatty, and although they checked on us a few times, they didn’t keep bugging us all night and instead left us to relax and enjoy our time here.

IMG_3345

Cocktails:

Between 4-9pm Sunday to Thursday, you can get 2 cocktials for £10 at Alfie Birds. A cracking deal which  offers a competitive price in a city  with an abundant supply of cocktail bars. I started with the French Mar-tea-ni – Smirnoff Vodka, Briottet Creme De Mure and Pineapple Juice – as it’s one of my favourite cocktails in general. Alfie Birds produced an fantastic version of this classic, serving the deliciously sweet but balanced cocktail in a quirky little tea cup too.

IMG_3330

IMG_3331

Katie ordered the Peach Cosmo – Cuervo Gold Tequila, Briottet Peach Liquer and Cranberry – for her first cocktail. It was light, with a mild, pleasant kick from the alcohol that didn’t overpower the other fruity flavours.

IMG_3333

We were so impressed with our first round of cocktails that they went down very quickly, and we soon ordered some more. Whilst Katie ordered the French Mar-tea-ni, I opted for the Planters Punch – Orange, Pineapple, Captain Morgan Dark Rum and Lime. This fruity cocktail was equally fab and rounded off a great selection of cocktails!

IMG_3337

Food:

Alfie Birds had recently updated their food menu when I visited, which features daily specials like 241 pizza Wednesdays and 2 for £10 burger Tuesdays. You can also take part in one of their “man Vs food”-esque challenges too if you’re up for it too! Although I can eat a lot, for the sake of wanting to be able to walk home and not roll home I steered clear of these…maybe next time!

We were very excited to spot nachos on the menu, and couldn’t resist ordering some to share. After asking whether they recommended the small or large to share between 2 people, we were so glad for the push towards the small as even that was huge! It was a challenge (which we very happily took on!), but we managed to push through and finish this delicious, cheesy mountain of heaven. At only £4, you get so much for your money and I’ll definitely be ordering these again!

IMG_3335

I eat a lot of burgers, so this time I opted for one of their gourmet pizzas. As burger after burger starting flying out of the kitchen, looking extremely tasty, I started to worry that I’d made the wrong decision. This was until my amazing Goat’s Cheese and Red Onion Pizza arrived! The combination of the sweet caramelised onion with the creamy goat’s cheese was heavenly; combined with a thin, cripsy base and the drizzle of balsamic vinegar it made for a pretty near perfect pizza!

IMG_3338

Other options included a BBQ pulled pork topped pizza and a intriguing sounding ‘Balti Triangle’ (which comes complete with onion bhajis) among others, which all come from their wood-fired pizza oven.

In terms of desserts, they’re all custard based. And if I’m honest, it actually took me a while to twig why they are all custard based… A cool idea, taking inspiration from their home. But unfortunately I’m not a fan of custard so skipped dessert on this occasion. Although after the delicious nachos and pizza, I’m not sure I would of found room anyway!

 Overall:

Combining fantastic food and cocktails in a relaxed, cool environment, Alfie Birds has become one of my favourite venues in Birmingham. An evening here won’t break the bank, so you’ll get to chow down on some yummy pizzas whilst sipping a fab cocktail in an easy-going atmosphere with great service. I don’t think you could really ask for much more?

IMG_3344

Disclosure: I was invited by Alfie Birds to review their venue for DesignMyNight Birmingham, and all food and cocktails were complimentary. But as always all opinions expressed are honest and my own, and I was not required to write a positive review

Leave a Reply

