New Food Menu at Revs

Revs was one of the first places I reviewed on my blog when I started it just over a year ago (you can read it here!), and since then I’ve been countless times for cocktails and dropped in for food a few times too. So when me, Emily and Katie dropped in for some food after going to see the new Hunger Games film (it’s amazing by the way!) a few weeks ago and had another great meal here, I decided it was about time I reviewed them again…

We visited on a Saturday evening and there was a pretty lively atmosphere in the venue, mainly thanks to the three cocktail masterclasses which were taking place downstairs. It just made me want to do a Cocktail Masterclass at Revs again as they’re always great fun and perfect for a birthday or celebration! Due to this we had to sit upstairs, which actually has really nice seating now since the place got done up earlier this year, as well it’s own bar too.

Cocktails:

We all ordered a Hobo Mojito – Sailor Jerry with Sugar, Mint, Passion Fruit and Pineapple Juice – to start with which was just as fruity and refreshing as always! This cocktail became a new favourite of mine over the Summer, and I’m so glad they kept it on the menu following their Mojito Madness specials a few months ago as it’s made for a great addition to their already fab range of mojitos.

IMG_4322

Me and Em also tried one of their Christmas specials, Fine and Candy – Strawberry Infused Vodka, Absolut Cherry, Creme de Menthe, Grenadine and Cranberry Juice. Although we weren’t huge fans of it at first, it kind of grew on us as we made our way through it. It also genuinely tasted like a candy cane too, so a good choice if you’re feeling festive!

IMG_4329

Katie ordered one from their festive menu too, the Irish Mistletoe – Absolut Vodka, Baileys, Creme de Menthe, Milk and Cream. However she really didn’t enjoy it and ended up leaving it after just a few sips.

Food:

We’re all huge fans of the food (and of course the cocktails!) at Revs anyway and have always had great meals here. So we couldn’t wait to order lots and lots of food from their new-ish menu which we were all yet to try. I felt like the selection and range of dishes on offer was the best yet as I was tempted by most of the menu, and although they’ve gone for an almost American-inspired menu now there’s still plenty of choice for vegetarians too.

IMG_4319

We started by sharing 3 of the small plates that you can get in an offer as 3 for £13. After mine and Em’s midweek trip to Revs a few weeks ago where one cocktail turned into ordering a mezze board at 10pm (damn you alcohol munchies!) and we fell in love with the houmous here, we couldn’t resist ordering the Oaky Smoky Houmous with Dough Sticks and Crudites. This is just the best houmous ever; it’s so tasty and moreish, and I could happily eat it all day everyday.

IMG_4326

And for extra dipping, the Garlic Flatbread, which went nicely with the houmous but was I felt it was lacking in garlic flavour.

IMG_4325

We also ordered another favourite off the menu with the  Crispy Goats Cheese Bon Bons. These are heavenly and deliciously creamy, and if you’re a fan of goat’s cheese you have to try them!

IMG_4324

Whilst Katie tried the Fish ‘n’ Chips and Emily had the Margarita Pizza, both of which were thoroughly enjoyed and really great dishes, I opted for the Brooklyn Chicken Burger – Fried Chicken, Bacon, Smoked Cheddar Cheese, Chipotle Sauce, Big Easy Mayo, Fried Pickles, served in a Toasted Brioche Bun. The chicken was so moist and tender, and the crispy coating had a nice flavour and crunch to it without being greasy in the slightest. I liked the addition of the smoky cheese and the crispy bacon too – always a winning combination on a burger! However I would have liked more of their (addictive!) Big Easy Mayo and I couldn’t really taste the chipotle sauce either. But overall it was a really great dish which satisfied my craving for a proper, hearty burger and I’d be more than happy ordering and eating it again.

IMG_4327

I also ordered a side of their Fire Pit Beans – Smoky BBQ Pinto Beans with Pork Burnt Ends – which I forgot to take a picture of in my excitement to dig into the food! I loved the smoky depth and heat the beans had. They went really well with my burger, as I imagine they would with others on menu too, and the portion size was spot on for a side dish.

Overall:

We had another great meal at Revs, and for me the food only seems to get better. It’s just unfussy good food that everyone loves (burgers, mac n cheese, pizza, fish and chips…) done really well!

Revs remains to be one of my go-to places to eat at when I’m after both great food and great cocktails, whether it be for a chilled midweek meal or to celebrate a special occasion. The  service and atmosphere was fantastic as always too, which only adds to the overall experience. So if you’re yet to visit Revs for food, as you’ve just not got round to it or you mainly see it as just a cocktail bar, I urge you to give it a try as you won’t be disappointed.

Disclosure: I paid for my own meal and drinks, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

Leave a Reply

