Prezzo

Back in December,  my family visited me in Birmingham for a day of Christmas shopping. But first we decided to head to Prezzo at The School Yard in Harborne to fuel up on food before we faced the hoardes of crowds in the Bullring. Prezzo has always been one of our go-to restaurants as a family as there’s something for us all on the menu and the food has always been really tasty.

When we visited I was surprised by how busy the restaurant was for a Sunday, and it had a lovely, chilled atmosphere. The service was great too with efficient staff that were friendly and pleasant, but they weren’t overbearing and mostly left us to catch up and enjoy our food.

Food:

We decided to share the Large Pane Con Cipolla – Garlic Pizza Bread with Balsamic Onions and Mozzarella – to start with. The use of a pizza base made it indulgently comforting and moreish. Whilst the addition of the sweet, sticky caramelised onions with the gooey melted cheese just completed this fantastic garlic bread. Absolutely delicious!

IMG_4808

We all went for different dishes for our mains – my brother had a huge bowl of Spaghetti Bolognese (which received a huge thumbs up from this usually fussy eater), my Mum had the Lasagne (delicious apparently!) and my Dad had the Siciliana Chargrilled Chicken Baked with Prosciutto, Plum Tomatoes and a Blend of Cheeses. Whilst I had the Chicken Ravioli with Pancetta and Leeks in a Carbonara Sauce. The sauce, which generously coated each light ravioli parcel, didn’t really remind me of a traditional carbonara sauce but nethertheless it was creamy and flavoursome. However  they’d used too much pepper for my personal taste and the parcels were only sparingly filled. Overall a nice pasta dish, but by no means outstanding, and I did wish I’d gone for my Mum’s yummy lasagne instead.

IMG_4809

When I was younger, I was a notoriously fussy eater. So I only tried Sticky Toffee Pudding for the first time a few years ago (a shocker, I know!!), and it so happened to be at Prezzo! It was absolutely heavenly – a moist, melt-in-the mouth sponge topped with plenty of gooey, delicious, sweet toffee sauce! And luckily it was just as fantastic as I remembered this time round too…

IMG_4814

Overall:

I’m an avid supporter of independent restaurants, bars and businesses. But every now and then, I stumble into a chain restaurant (as many do), and I have to say Prezzo is one of my favourite ones. The service is always friendly and the food is great.

Disclosure: We paid for our own food and drinks using our Tesco Clubcard vouchers, and all opinions expressed are honest and my own

4 thoughts on “Prezzo

Leave a Reply

