January 2015 Round Up

Well January was just as long and tiresome as predicted, with the return to work and miserable weather (yes I hate the snow!!). However I softened the blow a little bit with plenty of good food and drink out in Birmingham at The Warehouse Cafe, The Rose Villa Tavern, Revs, Ask Italian, Bodega and Bar Opus. January also turned into quite a London focused month on the review front following my food filled weekend there too. 

Of course it’s meant to be a healthy month too, which I’ve tried to incorporate with a few healthy recipes and by cutting out coffee. The latter of which has been particularly painful!

Here’s what I got up to this month…

1. My Foodie Bucket List for 2015

Rather than trying to think of a New Year’s resolution that I’d inevitably break within a few days (zero willpower!), I decided to come up with a list of things I wanted to achieve by the end of 2015 instead.

2. The Rum Kitchen

Delicious Caribbean food and fantastic rum cocktails – two of my favourite things which The Rum Kitchen excelled in! A great dining spot to head to when you’re next in London.

IMG_4499

3. Melt in the Middle Bubble and Squeak Cakes

After all the eating and drinking over Christmas, January is a great time to jump back onto the ‘healthy’ wagon. But healthy doesn’t have to be boring like this recipe proves, combining plenty of leftover vegetables with just a little cheese for delicious, light dinner.

IMG_5440

4. Prezzo

Just looking at this picture of Prezzo’s gloriously indulgent sticky toffee pudding is making me want to eat it all over again! So if anyone has a fantastic, foolproof and delicious recipe for this classic dessert, please send it my way!

IMG_4814

5. Chicken Stir Fry For One

Put down  your Chinese takeaway menu (hard, I know!), and whip up this tasty chicken stir fry. Not only is it healthier, it’s packed full of flavour and also super quick and easy to make!

IMG_5490

6. Foodie Weekend in London

I love foodie weekends – a few days dedicated to nonstop eating and drinking, and often trying out new restaurants and cocktail bars, or revisiting old favourites! My trip to London was no different, and I had a great time eating my way around the capital with fellow blogger Polly.

IMG_1212

7. Mama Wang’s Chinese Street Food Cookery Class

Since I started blogging, one of my favourite things to do is attending cookery classes. I’ve loved the chance to learn new skills and techniques, try new foods and dishes, and really get an insight into a certain cuisine. And Mama Wang’s Chinese street food class incorporated all three in a fun, hands on and tasty class!

IMG_1205

8. Moomba, Loughborough

I’ve finally reviewed my favourite restaurant at home on my blog, and I’m not sure why it took me so long as it’s fantastic! Delicious kangaroo burgers, fab cocktails and a great atmosphere – what’s not to love?!

IMG_1296

9. Garlic Mushroom Stuffed Potatoes

Transform a standard jacket potato into something special with this creamy, garlicky mushroom filling.

IMG_1336

10. DesignMyNight Birmingham – Bar Opus

Bar Opus has been high up my go to list for a while now. So when DesignMyNight Birmingham asked me to pop along and review their food and cocktails, I jumped at the chance to. Check out what I thought here.

IMG_1358

What to Expect on My Blog in February:

Perhaps February will be the month I start eating out less and join a gym, but knowing me it most definitely won’t be! Especially as I’ve already got the following lined up…

  • Thai Cooking Class at Chaophraya Cooking School
  • White Chocolate and Raspberry Cheesecake
  • Return of Digbeth Dining Club
  • UK Burger Battle
2 thoughts on “January 2015 Round Up

Leave a Reply

