Marco’s New York Italian, Leicester

The Marco Pierre White brand has had a busy few years with new openings across the country, and more planned for the near future. And a few weeks ago I visited Marco’s New York Italian in Leicester which opened in January. Admittedly I hadn’t realised there was a MPW in Leicester until I received the invitation! But it’s safe to say it’s a great addition to the food scene here and I’ll be back to try it out again..

Set in The Grand Hotel, part of the Mecure Hotel chain, it’s not your typical hotel restaurant. It’s 1000x better. Starting with the modern, classy purple and black decor and furniture, it oozes elegance without being too formal. We settled into one of their comfy booth style tables which we loved as they were so cosy and secluded, whilst other tables lined the walls and were dotted around the restaurant. We both wanted to take home the plush purple chairs in the bar area too…it took a lot of restraint not to! Overall a fantastic setting, environment and first impression.

Our waitress also ensured everything was perfect for us during our stay. The service was friendly and efficient – I overheard a couple saying it was the best service they’d received in a while and couldn’t help but agree! Yet they weren’t overbearing and we were left to enjoy our meal.

Food and Drinks:

Whilst the extensive wine list tempted us both, we were driving and it was a school night so we resisted this time. We also skipped starters and dived straight into mains, both opting for the 8oz Fillet Steak. Unfortunately my steak was a little over-cooked for my liking, more medium than the medium rare I’d asked for. However the high quality cut of steak helped save it slightly and I still enjoyed it. My Mum’s was perfect for her though and extremely tender.

11853971_10207632454552383_430651032_n

We both swapped the Lazy Fries for Rosemary and Garlic New Potatoes. I thought they tasted quite earthy (which can be the case with potatoes in general sometimes so not entirely the restaurants fault!), and would have preferred them to be roasted rather than boiled. Admittedly I regretted not opting for the fries, however our other sides of Sauteed Mushrooms and Seasonal Greens were great. The mushrooms were delicious and went perfectly with the creamy, flavoursome (but a little salty) Mushroom Sauce we both had. Whilst the the selection of greens also made for a tasty side, with plenty of fresh, well-cooked vegetables.

I was too full for dessert, but my mum  ordered the Mango & Passion Fruit Sorbet. I managed to sneak a taste too and it was so yummy! The sorbet was so refreshing, fruity and had chunks of fruit running through it – a perfect light dessert to end the meal.

Overall:

Whilst my meal wasn’t the best I’d had in recent times, with the overcooked steak and earthy potatoes letting it down, I’d still give Marco’s New York Italian another try. I’ve actually eaten at Marco’s New York Italian in Stratford-upon-Avon too and loved my meal there. So with such an extensive menu I know I’d be more than happy with a different choice next time.

Disclosure: I was invited to review Marco’s New York Italian in Leicester and our food and drinks were complimentary. However I was not required to write a review and as always all opinions are honest and my own

Leave a Reply

